The Temporal Demands of Branching Video Game Narratives - Where Do You Spend Your Time?

in #gaming2 years ago

The way we interact with stories in video games is a lot more intense than with literature.

thebatman.jpg

We have to solve puzzles, or work out strategies, or hone reaction times. We have to figure out how to min-max our stats, get the most benefit from investing in skills, weigh the penalties and benefits of different sorts of equipment.

There are leagues. People train for this stuff.

In narrative-driven games (The Witcher, Cyberpunk 2077) the story itself becomes another game mechanic.

We play through multiple times, because it’s fun. And we plan: when I get to the point where Geralt has to decide who to fall in love with, I’ll go for the red-head this time. Or we play through the conclusion of a game, then re-load a save from just before the end, so we can postpone it and finish off a dozen side-quests. Or we go berserk and murder a bunch of innocents in a bloody rampage, just to see how it feels, confident we can turn back time with a quick re-load.

Look at these idiot NPCs, completely oblivious to the fact that I just slaughtered them and then turned back time.

crossing.jpg

Somehow we keep the stories straight in our heads, the semi-overlapping parallel versions of our simulated realities. If we play through enough times we build up this weird mosaic of the game in space and time, all the branching choices and possible outcomes.

In a game as big as Skyrim, the possible narrative space is endless. No wonder people are still playing this game well over a decade from release. People who already know every possible outcome of the story find new ways to slog through it. They’ll impose self-limits.

“I’ll only make evil decisions this time.”

“I’ll be a magic user who’s forbidden from holding weapons.”

“No fast travel on this play-through. I’ll walk or ride a horse everywhere.”

“Let’s install a mod that penalizes me for hunger and cold weather.”

All to see, I suppose, how this effects their affect. What is it like to go through this fictional life in this new way?

How refreshing to have that option. Even if it’s just on a screen. (Or, for a few early adopters who don’t suffer from motion sickness, in VR.) How different would life feel if you knew you could log a save before every major decision and do it again if things didn’t work out?

Or if you could lower the difficulty slider when things got really tough.

creek.JPG

I haven’t had a lot of time for video games over the past several months.

We’re talking maybe 20 minutes a week, here and there.

I suppose I could stay up late, cut into my sleeping time. But as it is I’m already blacking out twice a day on the train and for a few minutes during lunch. I was low-energy long before life got challenging.

It should be a bit of a fun escape. But when I do sit down in front of a computer, I’m too mentally fried for strategizing, never mind holding the multiplicity of possible outcomes in my head of a story I last visited several months before.

I click “continue” and then wonder: What was I doing on the side of this mountain? What button do I press to cast a spell? Where is Lydia?

Going into Minecraft for a few minutes of mindless branch mining has been more my speed. Or making a quick delivery in Euro Truck Simulator.

Although even this low-impact stalwart has betrayed me. I know I was in the middle of a big delivery, but the loading screen hits me with “Content change detected. Your delivery was canceled and you have been moved to a safe garage…” Meanwhile Microsoft Flight Simulator completely re-worked the control scheme, from how you pan the view to which button on the controller lowers the flaps.

I start to wonder, if you can’t play every day, is it worth playing at all? In that way, gaming starts to feel a little bit more like real life than what I’m looking for.

Maybe I should dedicate those 20 minutes to reading, instead. Where there’s just one narrative to keep track of, and all I’ve got to do is stay awake.

Or maybe I should mow the lawn. It’s an absolute disaster.


When life gets challenging and there's little time for pleasant distractions, how do YOU unwind?


AtopyCamera.png

DividerBorder.jpg


Unless otherwise stated, photography is the work of the author. Feel free to copy, remix and share photographs from this post according to the terms of a Creative Commons Attribution Sharealike 4.0 International license.

Camera divider and signature illustration by @atopy.

AtopySignature.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @winstonalden! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 30000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Maybe you should do whatever the hell makes life a little more bearable, eh? Don't be so hard on yourself. Fuck the lawn. gasp Fuck books, too. If gaming's what you feel like, then game like there's no tomorrow. I game, too. I'm so gamed I read it as "mood that penalizes me" :))
Hm. I think yes, it's still worth playing, even if you don't play every day, just like anything else, really. Like learning the guitar. Sure, it would be better if you practiced every day. But is never practicing better than practicing once or twice a week? Now, how could that be?

What button do I press to cast a spell? Where is Lydia?

Seriously, what da hell, Lydia?

Dear @winstonalden, we need your help!

The Hivebuzz proposal already got important support from the community. However, it lost its funding a few days ago and only needs a bit more support to get funded again.

May we ask you to support it so our team can continue its work?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Your support will be really appreciated.
Thank you!