The Water Garden - Day 83

in #garden6 years ago

IMG_20180319_180726.jpg

Had a special helper for my gardening today. She helped me pick out some new seeds and plant them. She was very excited about helping me plant the seeds and immediately ripped the top off of the seed packet before I even had time to clean out the old planter. It was alright though because she managed to open up the package like a pro and just calmly waited for me to get ready. I was pretty impressed by my three year old niece.

IMG_20180319_175802.jpg

But before any planting we needed to clean out our old planter. I'm tried out a new method for cleaning today and it was way easier than before.

IMG_20180319_175917.jpg

I emptied the planter into a bowl and filled in with water. This allowed me to really break apart the roots and grow stones. Everything came apart so much easier than before. Easily saved me 10 minutes on the cleaning since separating the stones and roots was a pain in the ass last time.

IMG_20180319_180732.jpg

After I put the clean stones back into the planter and dropped the planter into the water garden, it was time for my niece to plant the flowers she picked out. She did a really good job and never dropped a single seed. She is a pretty amazing little three year old.

IMG_20180319_180750.jpg

My freshly planted planter. I'll wait a few days before cleaning out the next planter since I need to allow a few days for the bacteria to repopulate the the freshly cleaned planter.

I'm interested to see how the flowers do in my aquaponics. I have no idea if they will grow well or not but I think it will be fun to see how they do!

Sort:  

she is looking so cute . there is a proverb in Telugu which means "kids are not less than god" it means there souls are filled with only love and no jealous. they help without any expectation just like god :)

nice nice thank you follow you blog.