Busy As Bees

in #garden4 years ago

Quick post from me today as I would like to touch base with all of you, no I have not disappeared again, I am just super busy with a lot right now and probably for the whole summer.
I have to get used to documenting my new journey when it starts but I have run into a small... maybe even big problem to get me to start it.

First things first, what I have been really busy with is getting my garden going. Working the lot and clearing a new spot for planting pumpkins.


image.png

I have also been clearing the medicine garden which even though it is a small circular area, it took me a good portion of the day to clear it and then plant a few more flowers in there. I already have lavender, sage, chamomile, lemon grass, lemon balm, chives, garlic chives, roses, lily of the valley, and a few other flowers. I planted echinacea but that hasn't sprouted yet. I have two types of basil left to plant, sweet grass, tobacco and I have planted nasturtiums too but no flowers yet.


image.png

We had quite a bit of rain which slowed things down here and then after having two weeks of beautiful hot weather, when the rain hit the nights got really cold and even went down to 0-1 celcius. How fun.


image.png

The rain was good for the already established plants, gave them a good growing boost, especially for the young lavender, but the cold did not favor my zucchini plants at all. They are still there but are weak and sad looking. I gave them some vitamins to help in growth and this week is showing good warm weather which should help them out.


image.png

I am also dealing with pests already. I do not have patience for pests. Last year we had moles which resulted in them stealing my zucchini plants and I learned that they hate Marigolds. I prepared myself in advance this year and with that, no moles so far, but now something is eating my marigolds. Well shit. I read that it could be either slugs, birds or rabbits. I am suspecting slugs so I put out tin plates with beer, but I haven't set up anything to fight birds or rabbits. Now the thing is, whatever it is, is only eating them in one spot. I have them planted all over the garden and the others have not been touched. The first one I planted was almost completely eaten so I planted another with a flower in bloom this time, hoping the smell would deter pests... pffff ya right.

Next step, tomorrow hopefully, I either place ribbons and hang CD's or something of the sorts, or I make a scarecrow. But that will be a long project that is time consuming which I don't have the time as is. Knowing how I love halloween it definitely wont just be any ordinary scarecrow, something I can use as a scary prop too of course, check out http://pumpkinrot.com/pages/Page16.htm. But does a scarecrow really even work if the darn thing doesn't move? I could always put some sort of light cloth for movement but if there is no wind, then its is pointless, no?
Any of you have experience with scarecrows?

Next (again next, so many next'seseses), I have been working with preparing for what is to come. Medicines and syrups packed with vitamins all from foraging. I worked on making dandelion jelly and stupid me, I did not follow a recipe thus resulting in non jelly... more like juice. Might still be good on pancakes or ... I'll think of something.

I have started making spruce tips cold syrup using honey and letting it ferment and also making syrup. I have only started with making the spruce juice and haven't started the process of making it a thick consistency. I am tired and I need the time to be able to sit and wait for it to happen. Maybe tomorrow hopefully.

Also tomorrow I have to collect white pine needles. I had to cut a few low and dying branches of the trees in my yard and I don't want them to go to waste, will make for good medicine for the winter.

... I need to make a list of things and all this while taking care of the house chores and kids. Help!

So, my new journey - is on hold. I really want to talk about it but for one, how much time do I have left to write this out before I have to prepare the kids for bed and in how much detail can I write it in?


image.png

Selfie! I have ran out of pictures to share, I didn't think to take pics of everything and this space looked empty, so here is a filler :P

I am going to have to and want to write this journey in a series, no choice with the way it will happen. So here is a hint: Day 1 of the journey to come is moving!

I am only missing a few things to make things happen and it is just taking time to get some of that information I am missing to get it done. Oh man I am just so close!

Ok, ok, I have to stop here if I eventually want to have a relaxing night to myself :P

Have a good one -be it a cold beer, a nap, a day, weekend, week, sunset, sunrise, who knows, just make it good ;)

Sort:  

It's a war zone out there! I hear people saying that nature can have their bit and we can harvest out bit. They obviously have more generous critters that our Aussie ones. They need to have a chat with our possums. I'm thinking of setting out land mines and bear traps. Little buggars :)

It sometimes feels like it lol.

Well nature was eating on something else before I planted my food so they can go back to eating whatever that was haha. I just came back from watering my garden and the leaves from the one marigold plant is almost all gone, but all the other ones are ok. The beer plates have no slugs in them so I think it is safe to assume that it is a rabbit eating it and is chowing down on them one by one. Would a bird eat just on one till its all done and jump to the next? So I gotta create something to make it stay out. I believe it is only one because of the 1 that is being eaten. If there were more they would all be gone by now.

We don't have possums here and I know little about them but what I have seen is they can jump! I saw a video last night of one person trying to get one of their bushes and it just jumped at the guy lol.

Hopefully they don't pester you for too long.

Congratulations @foxyspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 65000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 66000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!