You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Heirloom Tomato Plants in Full Bloom + Garden Updates🌱+ What's Coming This Week!

in #garden7 years ago

@ch4nel, After I saw a 65ft. Tomato plant on YouTube, my ego was squashed. 😆

Do you feed your plants anything or just let them eat what's in the soil? I'm a big fan of soil building, but I also use water soluble fertilizers - organic OMRI approved only. We have an abundance of worms in our soil here, so I have to be careful not to disturb them - they are the best composers on Earth!

Sort:  

We let them use what's in the soil. When it comes to gardening, we're very new. We used sheep manure, which was full of red worms! We mixed existing dirt, manure and some pete moss to make the mixture more light and fluffy. I've thought about using organic fertilizers/teas. Perhaps the second year we will have to do more. This year, we simply prepared the beds and added the tomato starts.

The best part of gardening is the learning process and it never ends, @ch4nel. There is always something to experiment with or learn - it keeps thing interesting! You have done a great job in your first year, so I'm sure the next will be better!

The organic compost tea is a great idea, I use a seaweed/kelp mix to feed the microbes in the soil, but there's endless ways to do that, too. If you ever have any questions, don't hesitate to ask - the Steemit community can help. I'm happy to help anytime.

Happy Growing!

Congratulations on your recent #Curie vote!! 😉

Thanks so much. I'm sure there will be plenty of questions!