How’s Your Garden Growing?

in #garden6 years ago

With all the hub-bub of each day sometimes it’s hard to remember to check in with our loved ones and just ask ‘How’s your garden growing?’. Of course, this is just a metaphor for how are you, and how’s it going?

In the literal sense, we decided to scale down our garden this year 😕. We’re just going to do some potted tomatoes and peppers. Luckily though we do have these beauties growing on our fence line...

Black Rasberries!
A7AE412A-5CBD-4A68-9602-207EC80675E0.jpeg

Quick little funny story about these... one day I brought these home to plant. Well, my husband looked at me like, where?! Lol! We were definitely running out of room. So luckily our neighbor doesn’t believe in lawns and basically has a mini forest in his backyard, he’s such an awesome person! We ❤️ his forest!

My husband hops the fence and plants them on his side. The next year, our neighbor was SO pleased with the berries! He said, feel free to take as many as you like, hehe! We both smiled! I have yet to have enough produce from them to can but when I do he’s definitely getting a jar of black raspberry jam, for his gracious hospitality 😉!

Anyways... we also have him to thank for these honeysuckles!
A0F7704A-045C-4C65-AA4F-1D66E333C8C9.jpeg

I realize everyone says that these are an invasive species but I love them! I love the smell, the look, and yes, the taste! That’s right I pull out the center and lick the drop of whatever that is inside lol! I remember doing that as a little girl and it brings back such wonderful memories!

Even though we are scaling back our garden this year, we are provided with such amazing indigenous (well, we planted the berries but they are indigenous to the area haha) nourishment and beauty!

My next adventure is making some Dandelion wine! I know most don’t like these ‘weeds’ in your yard but they are amazing for you, completely edible and you can do so much with them!

So, how’s you’re garden growing? Would love to also see some pictures of your gardens if you have any!

Have a wonderful day all!

Peace, Love, and Light!

RECOMMENED CONTENT

@jaredlang, @modernnomad, @intrepidthinker, @tommyinthesun, @forester-joe, @fancynancy1,
@robomode, @cavalry,@funkymonkey20000, @kotturinn, @matt-a

Sort:  

Mmmm! Dandelion wine can't wait, that'll be fun.

I know! You have to get up super early to pick them before the neighborhood dogs pee on them is the only trick 😂