If we build it they will come. By they I mean rabbits, deer, moths, etc.

in #garden7 years ago

Our Garden

We went for it this year because we have the space. We are strictly non-gmo and organic so we went big because we lose a lot to pests.

I have a 40hp tractor and my neighbor gave me a 2 bottom plow and disks. I plowed and disked then hoed the rows by hand using stakes and string and I put in steel posts and wire for the tomatoes and sunflowers.

Most of the garden is tomatoes from heirloom variety seeds my wife harvested last year along with lots of peppers. We'll preserve most of it and give lots to friends and neighbors. The rest I won't know about until I'm told to go harvest.

We just started...

In September of last year after searching and planning our homestead for several years. My advice would be to toss most of your plans and just go do it and have fun. The land will tell you what to do. Hunting, goats, and garden have been the only things on our "list" that we've done so far but we have unexpectedly made pure maple syrup, root beer, butter, and cheese and have gathered Paw Paw fruit, mulberries, blackberries, hazelnuts, etc. and I think we've had more fun doing the unplanned things.

Speaking of that I better get back out there.

Sort:  

Followed. We are starting a homestead. We are only a few months into it, but we're loving it. Can't wait to see more posts from you.

You are the real deal though @scottyt my "homestead" is more gentleman farm in an established area on 13 acres. I do have 2 old wells (one with hand pump) and one with electric to a spigot but we turned on the county water because we heard the water is "no good" it does have a sulfur smell and is a little slimy. It also has a year round creek that I want to put a turbine in. So my ideas for homesteading are to be able to be prepared to be self sufficient if I need to. I hope to sell excess power back to the grid and cut the county water at some point.

How much land do you have? I haven't done my maple syrup post yet but I made a half gallon of the most amazing pure maple syrup... that was a last minute decision because I had an arborist point out a large sugar bush in mid winter, did some research, and tapped them. Now the leaves are out and I have hundreds of sugar maples so I'm investing in that which is a product I never even thought about! Same thing with sassafras (tons) and the same with paw paw fruit (tons). We're doing bees next year and a 30x100 high tunnel so maybe heirloom tomato starts? But make sure you explore every inch of your homestead and talk to your neighbors. you might stumble on something valuable that you've never heard of or dreamed of producing

Thanks, it's definitely a learning process. We've got a little over 20 acres, but its pretty dry out here. We'll see how it goes. We are very excited about tha way its going. More posts coming. Thanks so much for the tips.

nice garden i like your garden

Following, nice garden wishing I had some land the landlord lets me do a little flower/ herb garden but I really want 100 acres. Head over to my blog and give it a look over please up vote if you like it.

followed back and will do! We're just starting out but I have 13 solid acres