Red Potato harvest

in #garden4 years ago

zsun77.jpg

It's been a few months since I planted some Potatoes with eyes forming. I got a calendar reminder that they were ready for harvest. Lovely Logic and I went outside and harvested the plants. They were staying to yellow so it was about time for them to be pulled up.

tykbhu.jpg

I planted these spuds around March when the last of the frosts were just about done. It takes a few months for them to grow. The first few weeks it looks like nothing is happening. And then a plant emerges from the ground.

js1r3e.jpg

Sunlight has a big effect on them. The ones in the area with more sunlight gave me bigger Potatoes. About twice the size of the ones in part shade.

lny8yo.jpg

My beds ripped up after I pulled the Red Potato plants. The mulch seemed to work pretty well and happy with the results. I found mycelium growing in the woodchip beds which is good for the ecosystem.

s12euc.jpg

Part of my soiless growing methods I have tried hay and now wood mulch. Both worked great. Looking forward to seeing how the Sweet Potatoes perform in the mulch. I'll know by the fall.

Sort:  

They look great, have you tasted them yet?

Thanks much, yeah I roasted them with spices and they came out great!

Do you have a timer set for the sweet potatoes?

Nah, the frosts is my signal to pull them up. So I'll just let them go wild till then.

NICE

my Red Bliss, and Yukon Yellow gold potato are ready about end of June. I may do the double harvest, and try to pull some at that time and leave some for a fall harvest.

Hah nice.. I may go for another planting this year. Best of luck with yours, my golds gotten eaten up by slugs real bad. The reds seem to be more resistant to them.

Good luck this month with your harvest

Congratulations @solominer! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You are a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing HiveBuzz Shop - Offer gifts with your favorite badges

Bountiful harvest 😍.

Sure was. Really happy with the yield.

I have a special love for red potatoes. Instead of fried I prefer cooked tomatoes with palm oil. When it's served hot it very delicious. We use to farm them some time ago

Oh cool I usually use olive oil and butter but I'll look into palm oil.

Can red potatoes be sweet potatoes too?

Nope they are different families. They both have very different flavors as well. I like both.

Red potatoes are excellent.

Boil em mash em put em in a stew.

Good idea but I ended up roasting them.

This red potato is very tasty and different from normal potato. In some part of our country, its cultivated

Yeah it does seem to be different. The yellow potatoes are more prone to slugs.