Stringing up the Asparagus stalks

in #garden4 years ago (edited)

The stalks are coming up fast though they seem to kinda fall over without support. Since this is their first year they probably need some string to keep them up right.

n0hbne.jpg

Using some bright green string and stakes I tried the string and ran them down the row of Asparagus.

scu6my.jpg

The string also makes it easier to see the rows of Asparagus so we are less likely to step on them.

I can see why people mound up around the stalks. To give them better support. I added some mulch and seems to have helped straighten them up as well.

The string helped before I put extra mulch on the ground around them. Though as they grow taller I'll probably need to raise up the strings height.

Sort:  

A huge hug 🤗 and a little bit of !BEER 🍻 from @amico!


Un caro abbraccio 🤗 e un po' di BEER 🍻 da @amico!