Taking off the Training Leaves

in #garden4 years ago (edited)

Update on the sprouts

IMG_20200930_120550__01.jpg

When plants sprout, they have little tiny generic leaves that come out in a pair and then they grow. After a bit, they sprout leaves that are characteristic of the type of plant that they will be.

In the foreground you see a cucumber plant that is about five inches tall. It is getting its first cucumber shaped leaf.

Below that, is the tiny tomato plant that has now reached about two inches tall. It is about to sprout its tomato leaves.

I have never had a green thumb. I have not been able to do any gardening or growing for many years. But plants are very interesting and I'm enjoying this very much.

I have to thank my friends in Venezuela who are growing much of their own food and posting their successes and struggles here on Hive. You have all inspired me to try this.
spbobFooter.jpeg

Sort:  

Growing your own vegetables is a tradition that has been lost over time.
I remember when I was a child, my grandparents and uncles had gardens and also chickens, some even pigs.
With modernity came the smaller and smaller apartment buildings. Houses are being sold and young people are busy with other things.
There is no place or time.
A shame.

You are right. The last garden I worked was 30+ years ago, and today, there is really no need for one. But if things go as they have in Venezuela, it will not hurt to have food growing. The paper money will soon have no value as has happened at least twice before here.

One of our shops are now giving you a little garden, when you spend more than a certain amount, which is essentially a small biodegradable pot with seeds, that you need to plant.

One of our shops are now giving you a little garden, when you spend more than a certain amount, which is essentially a small biodegradable pot with seeds, that you need to plant.

I can only buy domestically, for two reasons. Customs rejects most everything and if not rejected, they charge huge taxes on 'contraband'. Also, the currency in the country where I live is collapsing and spending dollars (outside the country) is considered to be capital flight, which can be charged as criminal.

For now I can only donate and only with Monero (XMR).