Sort:  

Thanks @sufficientliving, I have livestock fencing that I weave and also strap (with velcro straps) to the caging. I have found that this method outperformed all other support systems we tested this year. I have a new and improved plan for next year!

Thank you so much for your support and I'm looking forward to getting the Part III out very soon. It is already 5k words+, so it should be nearing completion once I get my trusty copy editor to proof it 😉

I'm not sure where the majority of my post went, but it's gone! I noticed that only about 1/4 of what was posted is still there, which I can't explain..lol I will try to repair in the morning 😢

How does the velcro work thats a good idea i usually just use twine but it turns into a pain at the end of the growing season. I usually use tomato cages and t posts to tie them up to. I might try the cattle fencing next year

this is what they look like @sufficientliving. They are cheap and reusable - and easy to apply and remove. I needed something I can use quickly because supporting 100+ tomato plants can become very time consuming! I like these Velcro straps becasue they are pre-cut, cheap, and the inner side is soft - it really does not harm the stems like many other alternatives I have used. I LOVE THESE THINGS! I've bought nearly 1,000 of these this year and I can say they are worth the $15-$20 (USD) that I spent.

The livestock fencing works great because it is heavy duty metal and is made to return to its shape - when livestock push against it. I was lucky enough to be gifted an entire roll this year from my neighbors, so that actually saved my rear this year!! It was a 330 ft. roll of fencing x 4 ft width/height. I doubled them up and started them 6"-12" off the ground so I could attain at least 9 feet of secured trellis.

Where do you purchase the velcro straps from? Those are going to be on my list for next year's garden.

I bought them at a local Walmart, but I did look them up online on their site:
https://www.walmart.com/ip/VELCRO-Brand-ONE-WRAP-Thin-Ties-8in-x-1-2in-Ties-Black-100-ct/14917793
You might be able to find them in a store near you or somewhere like Amazon online. The site says they are sold out, but I'm sure you can find some before next season. I might have bought them all 😆