Impatients (Busy Lizzy/Touch-me-not) - by @crazymumzysa

in #gardening6 years ago

20180217_111653 (2).jpg

This bright cheerful easy growing annual is a must for your garden beds or as a houseplant especially during the summer months. They are popular because they flourish in shade and comes in a variety of colours, brightening up those dark areas.

20180217_114032.jpg

Impatients are part of the Balsaminaceae family and there are over a thousand species. They are native to Africa, are low mounding plants reaching a height of about 30cm and frost intolerant.

20180217_114101 (2).jpg

You will enjoy a wide variety of bright coloured glossy blooms (white, coral, red, yellow, orange, purple, pink, violet and multicoloured) from early spring till end of summer and some will even flower all year long (depending on the species and area). The flowers are either single or double petaled and you can also get little rose shaped flowers.

20180217_114105.jpg

They have a little seed capsule which explodes when ripe by the slightest touch of your hand, releasing hundreds of little sticky seeds, thus the name “Touch-me-not”. I remember how I used to love popping these pods as a child, I thought they were super cool.

20180217_114008 (2).jpg

Impatients thrives in shade (can tolerate sun) with humus-rich well-drained and moist soil. They need to be watered quite often and use a slow release fertilizer once every second week.

HAPPY GARDENING!


Image Credit

Keep smiling, reading, writing and voting!!

Sort:  

Cool photos! I'm a photo lover too :)

Beautiful and Lovely Photos you have got there man.

Wish i can have these all in my house. I am so much in love with flowers and everyone around me knows that

Beautiful.
Folwers brings soul to life

Living pictures, flowers are so beautiful, I pray that your life is beautiful like a flower

Wooww wonderful pictures 👍👍👍

Nice and beautiful flowers. Really heart touching and i love flowers. thanks for sharing

For the love of flowers and celebration of beauty

Beutifull flower.. I like it

The beauty of nature :) I like that quotation of Victor Hugo :)

Beautiful flowers

just amazing

this is my photography

Beautiful pictures of nature! The bright pink one is my favorite. Upvoted :)

flowers are very beautiful, make our heart and mind calm when seen it. I love it

I have writing and vote you post brother @africaunited

wow.... amazing this flower photography. i appreciate this gardening...carry on dear..... resteemit

Wow..amazing photography.beautiful flowers..

When summer comes I will be taking pictures of flowers but it is winter and everything is hibernating. Thanks for sharing!

Beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

Beautiful flowers! Good photography skills too.

wonderful photography.Thanks for sharing.

wow!very nice looking.But i dont know this flower name.Wonderful photography

Indeed a wonderful summer feeling, splendid artistic image.
Juicy colours and fantastic composition..Very beautiful work, i like the tones a lot.