You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My New Allotment, Starting All Over Again.

in #gardening2 years ago

So I'm guessing this is your winter time right now? as it's our spring going into summer. I'm going to look more into the weedy options because I am a big fan of caterpillars and flying insects.
what are you using to keep the frost away? normally I cover mine with a mulch and the bottom of the plant with old clothes sometimes works, but I tend to have in the past gotten quite a bit of plant death through the colder months.
someone told me the other day to cut a pop bottle into two and use it as a little mini-greenhouse, I don't know if that's an option for you? :D

Sort:  

I cut grass from the adjacent grassland to prevent fires reaching my place and use that to cover smaller tender plants. In a pinch, I get out cardboard boxes and those work pretty well too

using grass is good, full of nitrogen so they'll be getting a good feed out of it as well. didn't think of using boxes, I'm guessing you would use it as a mulch? cut holes in so the plants stick out from the top?

No, I just cover the plants overnight with boxes to prevent the plants freezing

oh, I get you now, sorry I miss understud. bet you cant wait for the warmer weather to come. :D

Indeed!