Reclaiming The Backyard Firepit, Part 2

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

So yesterday, I documented my battles with a large overgrown area in my yard.

I'd made some progress, but still had a good sized portion to finish up.

Today's target was the space beyond the firepit and to Tinker's right. The stuff in the foreground are piles of what will be burned or tossed out later.

And.... DONE!

Much to my surprise, the little tree which was too big for my loppers, was rooted so shallowly that all I had to do was tip it over and clip the roots. Major win!

Here's an overview of the whole space after I'd finished root wrangling.

And finally, the new pile of disposables!

The next step, hopefully, will be getting both of the disposable piles wrapped up and out to the curb for city pick-up. Not a hard job, but dicey because of all the rose vines. I may do a quick burn of the small pile of dry stuff, but rain is on the way, so that may have to wait.

After the debris is out of the way, then I'll be laying out a fresh layer or two of landscaping fabric. I'm not sure what I'll top that with yet. Probably more mulch, but there's plenty of time to decide before I get to that stage, it seems. You see, not only is it supposed to rain tonight... we have a week's worth of days with a better than average chance of it coming up.

Fingers crossed I get break in the storms, so as not to lose my momentum!

The next installment will be weather dependent... send good wishes!

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

{Edited to insert a missing portion in a sentence.}

Sort:  

I think you definitely won that battle :)

Thanks! Those stinkin' vines fight back. I'm more stubborn, tho. Lol!

It will all be worth it when your done :(

That will be a nice area when you are done! Spring is such a great time for projects like this one. It will be fun to see your progress - especially since you are doing all the work, lol. : )

I sure hope so. It started off as just a clean up, but these things can take on a life of their own sometimes. The rain showed up, so I'm on a forced time out. At least it's allowed my sore muscles to recover a bit. Thanks for the support, too. It truly helps!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.52 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 27 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.