Gardening in Hard Times

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

Gardening in Hard Times

ADDB4057-FDB1-4B68-90B3-72CE423D1943.jpeg

I saw a sign posted on the wall at the medical lab. It said, “Growing old isn’t for sissies.”

What does that have to do with gardening and hard times, you ask?

When someone says hard times, most people think of some international events, like wars and financial upheavals. And it’s true those things can and do happen way too much. But what I want you to consider here are the hard times on a more personal level.

This is a personal story and how it relates to the gardening season just passed.

Late last winter I developed a retinal tear with a retinal detachment. Old age the doctor said. After eye surgery to repair the damage, I had certain restrictions on movement and no vision in my right eye. The lack of vision was from the gas bubble they put in my eye to fix the retinal detachment. This happened just about the time to start indoor plants for the coming season. Ultimately, this meant I would be buying plants instead of starting my own. It was a hard time for gardening.

The eye healed. The gas bubble was absorbed. Literally, things were looking good. I started to prepare the garden and start some early planting. Well crawling around in the garden, I picked up a nasty germ that caused an infection just above my left knee. After a round of antibiotics and about six weeks of healing, I was able to bend the knee and get back in the garden. I got a late start, but there was still time to get a good harvest of my favorite vegetables. It was a hard time for gardening.

The summer wasn’t as warm as it could have been, but the rain was good. The garden was looking good. The weeds were under control. The usual pests were even quite light. There’s hope for this garden season.

The peppers were turning red. The tomatoes were ripe. Fruit on the trees and bushes were sweet and ripe. It was time to start making jams, jellies, and tomato sauce for the coming winter. You know there’s nothing better than homemade jam on still warm homemade bread. The taste of summer in every jar of canned tomato sauce has no equal in store bought sauce.

Then lightning struck once again.

A late summer bonfire in the backyard, marshmallows, chocolate bars, and graham crackers...AKA s’mores. While pulling logs out of the woodpile for the fire, I picked up a spider too. It was most likely a Yellow Sac Spider, common in my area. It wasn’t a happy spider and it bit me on the lower right leg near the knee.

Seven days in the hospital on IV antibiotics and two surgeries later, I had a 4 x 5 centimeter hole in my leg. Apparently , the venom of a Yellow Sac Spider is similar to a Brown Recluse Spider. Not quite as bad, but bad. I have gruesome pictures if you really want to see how bad. A month on a wound vac to regenerate tissues in the hole in my leg, another month of moist dressings, and now 3 months later things are nearly healed. That’s the good part. The bad part is the tomatoes and fruit got overripe, fell on the ground and rotted.

No tomato sauce. No jams and jellies. It was a hard time for gardening.

Now I realize I’m getting older and some garden chores are harder to do. Then there are the unexpected events. Sickness, injuries, weather, pests, plant diseases, and weeds can conspire to make a gardener’s life interesting.

I like to think of gardeners as hopeful people. In spite of all the things that can go wrong, we still plant seeds. We trust life. We plan for the next season. We envision that perfect garden and perfect weather. It never happens, but even one sun warmed ripe tomato makes it all worthwhile.

Where are my garden catalogs?



_________________________________________________________________

Thank-you for taking the time to read my posts.

I really appreciate you for doing that.

Read more of my stuff @beyondordinary

If you like the post, please encourage me with an Upvote and share my stuff by Resteeming or Sharing a link on your favorite Social Network sites.

Sort:  

Beautiful flower, nice photo

My wife took that photo in her flower garden. I’ll tell her you liked it.

The bug was a nice touch, don’t you think?

"Literally, things were looking good."

That's my best line. I appreciate the lessons you have been able to share through your challenges.

Yes, I slipped that line in to see if anyone would catch it.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. There are so many things we can learn from each other when we take the time to make a connection.

Looking forward to reading your posts!

You had quite a time of it last season. I like your spirit, meaning even one tomatoe makes it worth while. May this year be better for you. 🐓🐓

Thanks for the good wishes. It has been an interesting year.

Looking forward to the next garden season.

I hope we both are all fixed up and have a better garden year. I got my list made out to order seeds. Hope you put the honey I dropped of to good use.

Here’s to our good health in 2018.

I already received a couple of my orders. Going to grow anything really different next season?

The honey is excellent in my turmeric/ginger tea.

I don't know what it is but I ordered Elena's Rojo Amaranth, going to try that. also Rosemary.

Is that Elena’s for eating leaves? I have some Elephant Head Amaranth If you want to try that. Rosemary does OK for me. I’ve tried to overwinter it inside several times with no success yet.

"Now I realize I’m getting older and some garden chores are harder to do. Then there are the unexpected events. Sickness, injuries, weather, pests, plant diseases, and weeds can conspire to make a gardener’s life interesting." I I feel you

Praise the Lord for Sun and Water
And tomato paste and jam

Congratulations @beyondordinary! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I really enjoyed reading your post. Sorry to hear about your health problems. I have never heard of a yellow sac spider. It seems like you had a really hard year last year. Hopefully , this year will be a better year for. Have a bless new year!

Thanks for your kind words.

I tend to believe that everything happens for some reason. When I experienced those events, I never really considered it a bad thing, and that sort of amazed me. I met a lot of caring people, nurses, doctors, and other health care employees. I was able to establish closer relationships with family members.

After the eye surgery, I saw things differently. The outer world with the damaged eye looked different. More importantly, the inner world of myself looked different. As my outer vision degraded, my inner vision improved.

It was hard, but in the end I think it was worth it.

Loved reading this! It's very true! Gardeners are indeed hopeful people. Gardeners get a connection with mother nature and a connection with themselves. Im sorry for all the bad lucks you got. That whole in your leg sounds horrifying. Glad you're doing better...!!!

You are so right about the connection with nature and gardeners. I hope by sharing my experiences more people find some inspiration to make those natural connections.

Would like to hear more about your WFPB recipes and experiences in your posts. I think this way of eating is an excellent way to get in touch with your physical self and the environment that sustains it.

Thanks for the good wishes!

Thank you kindly! I am looking forward to share more. My dream is to reconnect people from the city with the source of the food at the tip of their fork.

Yes! Let’s turn those urban food deserts into food oases.

Yes!!! :-D hehehe

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @beyondordinary to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Nice tips!

Following you!
Please do check out my latest post as well and follow me back @timesedge

https://steemit.com/poetry/@timesedge/faith-an-original-poem

Thanks. I did read your poem... nice!