Superfoods: Moringa Tree with seed pod and Persimmon Tree SUCCESS

in #gardening7 years ago

My Moringa Tree is busy dedicating nutrients and energy to the development of the seed pod. From the image below you can see that it has gotten much denser and thicker. The length of the seed pod is roughly the size of my thumb. I would estimate that the diameter of the seed pod is roughly the diameter of a US quarter to provide a better estimate. This tree is now taller that myself. I would estimate at roughly 7 feet in height.

IMG_6448.JPG

IMG_6447.JPG

IMG_6449.JPG

Photos taken by my super awesome iPhone

The heatwave we have been experiencing in Southern California has been a pain in the backside. Along with me not liking a week of 100+ degree Fahrenheit temperatures, I’ve had to make sure that the plants are paid extra care. The thing about potted plants is that the plants can’t dig deeper roots to get moisture. It relies on me to water the plants. So, I’ve been attentive and providing a good dose of water every night to make sure the trees and plants stay hydrated and not succumb to the heat. I’ve been thru that already and don’t want a repeat of mass plant death on my balcony.

The persimmon trees are doing surprisingly well in the heat. As I mentioned I’ve been watering them. And the broad leaves have not been killed by the heat. In the photos below you can see the progress of the trees. One tree has been growing fairly slowly. But, growth is growth and I’ll take it. I continue to see new growth, and that means its continuing to survive and thrive. I estimate it’s height now at around 6-8 inches.

IMG_6446.JPG

IMG_6445.JPG

Photos taken by my super awesome iPhone

And the other persimmon tree is doing very well. It now has several branches forming. Unfortunately, the heat has burned some of the new growth. But, that has only been limited to the tiny new growth. The large leaves are doing well and I anticipate them to continue to do well.

IMG_6441.JPG

IMG_6444.JPG

IMG_6453.JPG

Photos taken by my super awesome iPhone

The fall will consist of me transplanting the two persimmon plants into larger pots. I’m hoping that in 4-5 years time, with pruning and maintenance of the plants I will have some delicious persimmons of my own. I’m also looking at getting a fig tree for my balcony and expand upon the potential of a successful fruit garden on my balcony.

Thanks for reading! If you like the post, please upvote. And if you like the content please follow me to continue to receive more. Again thank you!

Sort:  

Mann i love moringa with zugar is delicius , i'm a te lover