The beautiful mess

in #gardening4 years ago

Oh would you look at those messy hair!
But don't let them fool you. They look thin and maybe soft, but they hurt like hell! They are flexible in the point where the are attached to the mammilla, but they are so sharp! True needles.

Mammillaria camptotricha



Mammillaria camptotricha cactus flower 2.jpg

Also called Dolichothele camptotricha, but since I just cant remember that name, I will call them Mammillarias.
It is native to central Mexico and no wonder it does well in a very sandy soil I potted it in - it is a desert cactus! It gets partially filtered sun throughout the day, but I think I will have to shade it more to keep the nice green colour. It got a little bit pale.
The flowers are nothing special really, but it is all about the cactus itself and the spines that later on, when it gets older it should almost surround the body looking like a nest. Thus a common name Birds Nest Cactus.

Mammillaria camptotricha cactus flower 1.jpg

Mammillaria camptotricha cactus flower 3.jpg

I got it last fall in the supermarket and it still managed to bloom for me. It would much nicer with pink flowers, but those are cute too. I also repoted it straight away and it turned out that I have two plants in one pot. I splitted them and now I have two of the same plants already filling up the small pots.
They grow pretty fast producing shoots from the base. It is still a rather small plant and I don't expect it to be taller than few cm, but will spread and create very evil carpet.

Now that I think of it, Mammillarias are the largest group of cacti I own. But that is what happens when I buy them blindly in the shop.
Also they ones you get easily in flower shops and centers are rather easy and fast to grow. So no wonder...

Mammillaria camptotricha cactus flower bw.jpg


I often have have some music on while editing photos and writing posts.
This is the song for today.
1987...

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

REGISTRATION | UPVOTE VALUES | NEW MEMBERS BONUS

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 21 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory
!BEER
2

I think you deserve some $trdo

You need to stake more BEER (6 staked BEER allows you to call BEER one time per day)

Great photo essay and macro shots

Resteemed and curated to photography-curation in @c-squared on Discord

~ AND ~

PHOTOSTREEM: This post has been manually curated by The PhotoStream team: The Photography Tribe!

banner 1.jpg

Congratulations @ewkaw


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you :)

So cute flowers peep out of thorns. :) I think the photos conveyed all the charm of this cactus :)

Thank you! They are really adorable. Cool looking cactus for sure :)

Yes, the thorns are impressive !!!

Oh yea! They are very protective :p

Hi @ewkaw!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.729 which ranks you at #1639 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 23 places in the last three days (old rank 1616).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 93 contributions, your post is ranked at #23.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment