You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Kind of Ripples Do You Want to Make?

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

a society trained that convenience is a grocery store instead of a plant is a society destined to completely loose it's connection to nature. It all starts with the young and teaching them the truth of where food comes from. Then they have an appreciation for it and understand that is the true convenience. And making it a daily part of life, growing food, which is why my kids have their hands in dirt.

Sort:  

I agree that teaching our youth where food comes from must become the new normal. Now, many more schools are starting gardening programs which is great to see. I wish I had that when I was in school!

My mom had me in the garden from the time I could walk. Some of my earliest memories are in that dirt. It wasn't until after 2000 that I started seeing schools, outside Montessori, have school gardens.

I bet it was awesome for your immune system to grow up with your hands in the soil. Gotta love those awesome microbes!

That is also why I don't get sick but once a year now, I'm a farmer, so my immune system is rocking. plus being a mild hermit helps keep the germs at bay.

Haha, but we have lots of plant friends! I definitely talk and sing to my plants. :)