What Kind of Ripples Do You Want to Make?

in #gardening7 years ago


help others.jpg

Everywhere I go, I imagine streets lined in gardens and fruit trees ripe for the picking. I dream of rooftop farms, gardens dangling off balconies and public fruit tree parks in each neighborhood.

When we’re out in the garden, all of our differences fall by the wayside and we are reminded that we’re much more alike than different. From there we can start other conversations about how we can work together to make a world that works for all of us.

We are planting the seeds of a new normal. We don’t have to wait for someone else to plant these ideas. These are things we can start today. We may not realize it but every day we are making ripples that affect those around us, so it’s time we all ask ourselves, “What kind of ripples do I want to make?”


11214045_727253434072962_9000758786149654005_n.jpg

With the power of social media, we have the ability to be our own broadcasters of news as well as receivers. I'm already starting to connect with many like minds and hearts on Steemit. It's so exciting to unite with others who share a vision of peace and abundance for the world. What do you want to become part of the new normal?

Make it a Great Day!

Onward and upward,
John

13576788_10107845017049820_1984119043500442048_o.jpg


footer.png

Sort:  

You are such an inspiration to me!

Every day I'm honored to wake up next to you! :)

@foodisfree Hello John! It is so great to come across your profile! You are exactly the kind of person my husband and I were hoping to cross paths with on here! He is going to be so happy when I share your profile with him! We just got started on here a couple of days ago, both of us are kind of floating around this big ocean in our own ways, discovering how to interact with this new environment (we're not used to spending this much time online) usually this time would be in the garden :S ... Just a quick intro to us, we started our own NPO about 3 years ago- it's focus is promoting and teaching topics such as permaculture, food sovereignty, creating seed banks (just to give a small example) and we were hoping to find an outlet where we could share that knowledge online (this has proven to be an amazing platform) I really hope we can connect with you further, I am going to be following you and am very excited to read about what you're doing! If it's not evident yet, I am thrilled to find someone on here encouraging and promoting the things I am so passionate about in life. Hope you have a great weekend and am looking forward to hearing from you! -Cece

Awesome to connect, Cece! Looking forward to learning more about your journey and what you and your husband are up to. It's so exciting to connect with like minds and hearts who share a common vision. There are many of us out there and with each connection, the seeds of a better future are planted. Do y'all share a profile or does your husband have a different one? Looking forward to your future posts too! Make it an awesome day!

So happy to hear back from you! My area of our project which is called HEART lies more on the food/medicine/introspection into the heart side. My hope is to inspire people to heal through food and plant medicine so my blog will be centered around that- "heart-to-hearts", recipes, how-to's, nutrition, natural cures/remedies, natural products etc while his is more towards the hands on, getting in the dirt, gardening hacks, philosophical talks about making the world a better, greener, more loving place :) We try to support each other's content but we each have our own niche and passions that complement the project and our goal to show people that there is another way. Funny enough, when I mentioned you to him last night- he said you two had already found each other :) This is a beautiful place! If you have anyone you'd recommend following, being new here, I would love your input. Grateful to connect with you, looking forward to more of it!

Food is medicine, indeed! I look forward to learning more about the medicinal qualities and how to prepare tinctures and salves. It's a whole world of exciting creation. So empowering as well to bring our bodies to a state of wellness through uniting with nature. Great to be connected! I started out checking out the gardening and homesteading tags and expanded out from there. I've connected with some awesome folks in the comments sections of topics I'm passionate about. Check out www.steemit.chat as well. Easy to get started and a great place to connect with others further and a promoting tool. I just joined but see it has lots of potential. To me Steemit seems like an amazing garden where all are welcome to bloom. Be well!

Here's an article I found helpful: https://steemit.com/steem-help/@timcliff/the-ultimate-guide-of-tips-for-new-steem-users

I covertly take fruit seeds to the park and plant them (and litter them when there's too many) every day or two.
Really ticks me off how there used to be tons of fruit trees but the cities remove them because they attract homeless people. What a horrible excuse.

Hopefully one day instead of these useless trees we have wonderful fruit-giving trees :3

Thank you for planting the fruit trees for the future! Every seed has the ability to get us one step closer to the new normal where fruit trees line our communities and provide for all. :)

a society trained that convenience is a grocery store instead of a plant is a society destined to completely loose it's connection to nature. It all starts with the young and teaching them the truth of where food comes from. Then they have an appreciation for it and understand that is the true convenience. And making it a daily part of life, growing food, which is why my kids have their hands in dirt.

I agree that teaching our youth where food comes from must become the new normal. Now, many more schools are starting gardening programs which is great to see. I wish I had that when I was in school!

My mom had me in the garden from the time I could walk. Some of my earliest memories are in that dirt. It wasn't until after 2000 that I started seeing schools, outside Montessori, have school gardens.

I bet it was awesome for your immune system to grow up with your hands in the soil. Gotta love those awesome microbes!

That is also why I don't get sick but once a year now, I'm a farmer, so my immune system is rocking. plus being a mild hermit helps keep the germs at bay.

Haha, but we have lots of plant friends! I definitely talk and sing to my plants. :)

This post received a 2.4% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @foodisfree! For more information, click here!

You're really doing a good thing and it makes me happy! I've always thought the government should encourage people to grow and raise their own food- for insurance against disasters and food shortage if nothing else. Of course the world doesn't work that way and in many cases the small producer is actually discouraged. Overall genetic engineering is the worst threat I forsee to the food supply and I liken it as morally equal to experimenting with genetics of humans themselves. Instead of big corporations it's better when more food is made by more people who learn to waste less! I'm a bit of a hypocrite but at least there's an apple tree in my yard haha. Am I too late in the season to plant now? You've made me feel like sticking seeds in the ground!

Stoked that you dig the vision! Whereabouts are you and I'd love to offer any advice I can. I think it's always a good time to get your hands in the garden even due to the simple fact that the microbes in the soil raise our dopamine levels and make us happier. Not to mention, we're grounding back to the earth. I agree that genetic engineering is a disaster. Life should not be able to be owned or patented. Here's to the revival of heirloom seeds and the art of seed saving!

I'm on Vancouver Island. I just looked up the zones on a chart which calls it a zone 7b.

Nice! I'm basically zone 7b too since I'm in the mountains outside Asheville, NC. I think it's a great time to start a fall garden. Do you have a yard or are you thinking of growing in containers?

Two raised 4x8 beds in full sun is mostly what I have to work with. Besides those there is no real plot just small areas alongside buildings which could maybe work.

You can definitely do a lot in two 4x8 beds, especially if you build some trellises to utilize vertical space well.

Soy tu tio

<3

I definitely need to build some plantes as soon as I move in with my gf. is hard to keep anything alive here since I work and spend half of my time at her place
haha

Haha, right on. I definitely recommend planting a garden where you'll pass by it the most often. Closer to the kitchen, the better I would say. :) Let me know if I can offer any advice along the way!

oh boy, thanks for the offer, I will :D
Soy tu tio

Followed ya to stay in touch. Looking forward to your future garden posts! :)

hahah sweet,
yeah probably you will see them soon :D

Are you related to Johnny Appleseed?
Inspired by him?
I love your work and attitude!

Haha, Definitely inspired by all the seed planters of the world. My Grandpa on my Dad's side was a conscientious objector during WWII and planted apples trees instead of going to war, so I guess I do have a little of the Appleseed vibes in the family. Haha. :)

Congratulations @foodisfree! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I love it!

I share your passion for a greener world and your attitude is very inspiring. We change the world by dreaming up the new one and letting our actions flow from our dreams.

The right time is now:-)

Love it! Great to connect with like minds and hearts around the world. Everything that exists, was first an inspiration, thought and then word. Here's to all we are yet to create! May our thoughts and words plant the seeds for a peaceful future.

You absolutely are doing something that casts tremendous ripples. I'm grateful to be a part of this movement, one day, everything will be free, just as Mother Nature intended it to be!!

I'm grateful for all the awesome folks that are connecting, like us! I agree that one day all will be free and we will live abundant lives unlocking our creative potential like never before! <3

Yes, we will get through this dark night, at least we have each other for company while we wait for the rest of the world to want something different for their lives rather than this current way of "doing things"...