You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Make Seed Bombs and Grow Food Everywhere!

in #gardening7 years ago

Haha, they're a ton of fun to make and toss out or slingshot over the fence of a vacant lot. You may even have a little too much fun. I've definitely seen the success of my seed bomb efforts many times. The trick is to mix in a variety of seeds for spring, summer and fall so that if it sits dormant for a while before it rains, something takes root. I also like to mix in a variety of native wildflowers too. Making some out of mostly native edibles would probably be very successful too. It's all about experimenting and going for it!

Sort:  

I went to a seed bomb making workshop in Rio de Janeiro... They wrapped up the seed and soil mix in a little clay ball like a pastry parcel so that it takes a while for the outer layer to melt away (so you know there's definitely been some good rain). I guess that's an important factor in drier climes.

He he, every time I write the word seed bomb I imagine a little red light going off in some anti-terror ism detector bot. I hope a SWAT team doesn't crash through my door now, he he. I'll have to get my seed ninja skills up to scratch in preparation.

You should totally do it! Just get together with a few friends and have a little seed bomb making potluck or tea party. Everyone can go home with a small bag of them to toss out or y'all can go on a guerrilla garden bike ride and toss them around town. It's so fun!

I love your enthusiasm!

Thank you! All things related to growing food get me super stoked. :)

Loading...