Sort:  

Nice demonstration, and it DOES look like a fun project! Good for all ages.

I highly recommend it. PLUS, getting our hands in the soil raises our dopamines from the bacteria and healthy microbes so it literally makes us happier!

This post received a 4.4% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @foodisfree! For more information, click here!

Great idea we have some open land that we just bought and all kinds of poison ivy is growing where the trees have been cut back. We need to fill it with something to choke it out and Seed bombs are a great idea!

Awesome to hear. Have you read Masabu Fukuoka? Read One Straw Revolution, it completely changed my perspective on growing food. It doesn't have to be hard. In nature, things don't need added fertilizer or pesticides. Just followed ya and looking forward to being connected. Let me know if I can offer any advice along the way!

Will do. I look forward to reading your posts as well. I haven't heard of those books. I'll have to check them out, though I'm already on board with no-pesticide gardening.

Awesome! Definitely check out One Straw Revolution! Glad to be connected on here. Stay in touch. :)

Thanks for the tutorial. I happen to have a bunch of poppy seeds that I could use! I'll have to try this and spruce up the neighbourhood!

Awesome. Go for it!

I am so in love with this idea! I'm pretty isolated here in South Carolina, feeling like a stranger in a strange land, even though I was born here.

My reason for hating Mondays is not that I have to head to a job I despise, but the sound of lawn mowers. I live in an apartment and no one seems to have heard of sustainable landscaping. In spite of my posting a "No Round Up, please, we need the bees!" sign on my patio, the landscapers sprayed around it and killed some of my patio garden plants. Totally unnecessary, there were just some sweet little flowers growing around my patio, now it's a brown, dead zone. I feel like a voice crying in the wilderness, surrounded by blind zombies spraying poison!
I'd love to connect more with some local FoodisFree lovers!

It's great to connect! Just followed ya. Know that you are not alone. We're all in this together and networks like Steemit are creating platforms for us to connect in new ways. I definitely have goals to get the food is free projects from around the world to connect on here so we can all be inspired by and learn from each other. Stay in touch and keep growing and sharing the vision because you never know who you may inspire. Be well!

Thank you so much! You're inspiring! Rainy day here, so not doing much gardening, but I noticed you showed some interest in the post about the HERO project. I'm dazed and confused by all the cryptocurrency, but I think I managed to open an account. I'd like to be on your team, if that's possible? All the freefoodies get together and do something good? Though tbh, I'm not even sure what that good thing is, but if it's a way to get away from Daddy Warbucks, I'm in!

Thank you for the kind words! I'm fascinated by the Hero project and am still learning more about it and would love to stay in touch about it all. I'm new in the cryptocurrency world as well but I love open source and decentralized ideas and it opens up a world of so much possibility.

Thanks for this! I Defo want to start planting seeds and growing things :-)

Happy to share my perspective. Let me know if I can offer any advice along the way! Start small but start right away and you'll start learning with your hands in the soil. There will never be a perfect time and place so just go for it whether it's a container garden or a small raised bed. Onward! Just followed ya.

I'd have to find plants that the deer won't eat and use those seeds. I've tried to start raspberries in the empty lots across the street and the deer keep finding them and eating them down. I think I have one raspberry plant that is still surviving, and it's in the middle of a brush pile that I piled there to protect it.
I think I could use marigold and black eyed susan seeds and have some success.

I hear ya! In my year spent in the Arkansas Ozarks, I dealt with quite a bit of deer. My best advice is the more diversity you can grow, there can be abundance for the animals and people. I found that the deer left my moon and stars watermelons all alone and made out with a great harvest. I got some deer resistant heirloom seed mix from Eden Brothers Seed Company. They are awesome.

Also, if the deer eat the seeds, their digestion tract isn't 100% efficient, so you might still get those seeds growing out of their scat elsewhere.

That's true. It's like the birds around here spreading the wild grape seeds all over the place.

Let us change the world. I am in.

Let's do it! Thanks for sharing the vision. Just followed ya.

BOOYAH

Haha, just followed ya. Cheers!

Cheers!

I used to think this was a good idea. I was using a lot for community gardening and some guerilla gardners though it a great idea to bomb my tilled lot with perennials. That was really fucked up.

I could see how that would totally be frustrating. Seems like an odd choice for them to seed bomb the plot since it was already growing food. I'm all about creative solutions to get people to reconnect with our food but I'd never want it to be at the expense of anyone else. Hope your garden worked out in the end! Just followed ya and looking forward to hearing what you're up to.

@foodisfree yeah it all worked out. Thanks for the follow. I call your follow and raise it with an upvote... lol i have poker on my mind.

Haha, I see your call and raise you with a 10% slider bar vote, lol. My vote doesn't have much weight yet though. :)

Ah! Seed ninjas!! Noooooo, my precious lawn!!! He he. Planting food is about the gnarliest most anarchic thing anyone can do. Plant food people!!
Question. Have you looked into the survival rate of your seed bombs? Wild food are hardy and rustic, do you think wild food seeds might have a better chance of survival? Xx

Haha, they're a ton of fun to make and toss out or slingshot over the fence of a vacant lot. You may even have a little too much fun. I've definitely seen the success of my seed bomb efforts many times. The trick is to mix in a variety of seeds for spring, summer and fall so that if it sits dormant for a while before it rains, something takes root. I also like to mix in a variety of native wildflowers too. Making some out of mostly native edibles would probably be very successful too. It's all about experimenting and going for it!

I went to a seed bomb making workshop in Rio de Janeiro... They wrapped up the seed and soil mix in a little clay ball like a pastry parcel so that it takes a while for the outer layer to melt away (so you know there's definitely been some good rain). I guess that's an important factor in drier climes.

He he, every time I write the word seed bomb I imagine a little red light going off in some anti-terror ism detector bot. I hope a SWAT team doesn't crash through my door now, he he. I'll have to get my seed ninja skills up to scratch in preparation.

You should totally do it! Just get together with a few friends and have a little seed bomb making potluck or tea party. Everyone can go home with a small bag of them to toss out or y'all can go on a guerrilla garden bike ride and toss them around town. It's so fun!

I love your enthusiasm!

Thank you! All things related to growing food get me super stoked. :)

Loading...

What a beautiful idea. I'm going to watch your video and try to learn about doing seed bombs :)

Awesome! Let me know if I can offer any advice. It's fun just getting your hands dirty and even more fun to do it with friends!

That's an excellent idea. I tend to save apple seeds and toss them randomly while walking down country lanes :)

Awesome! I love saving seeds from everything possible. Let's plant fruit trees for the future!

Sounds like a plan :)

Ingenuity! The sling shots are a nice touch.

xo

Haha, it definitely made it really fun. I felt quite rebellious walking around my neighborhood with a slingshot. Glad to be following ya. Enjoy the day!

It's a nice idea, but how does it work in practice? A lot of the plants need additional care during their life, if you throw a cucumber for example just anywhere at a random place, even if it will grow into a full grown plant and produce real cucumbers, who will notice it to harvest it? Or how is it going to be maintained to produce food for a longer period?

It is more of a tool that can be utilized in a variety of ways. If it's an overgrown or abandoned lot, I like to toss wildflower seedbombs or native varieties that are hardy. Depending on how much rain you get in your area, some things can thrive without any attention. There is no perfect application but I like to throw a variety of herbs, flowers and veggies for fall and spring and something is bound to sprout. Even if it just gets someone to notice and makes them smile, it may inspire them to plant a garden of their own. I like to think of it as edible/beautiful living graffiti in a way. :)

Yes, that's true. I hope I didn't come across trying to be negative about it. 😊

It's all good! Glad to connect. Enjoy the day!

Congratulations @foodisfree - This post was one of the most shared posts on the web from the Steemit website during the past week. You were featured in my report, here.

Thanks so much! Awesome to know. :)

I really love this idea, I want to do something similar in my community when I have the chance!

Awesome, you should go for it! It's a really great activity to get your hands dirty with friends and everyone can take some home. Stay in touch if I can offer any advice and take photos when you do. Followed ya. :)

Okay I have decided to follow you because I like your 'johnny appleseed' approach to gardening and I look forward to hearing about more of your techniques!

Great to be connected. I'd love to offer any advice I can. I've been very inspired by Masanobu Fukuoka and his book One Straw Revolution. His story is fascinating but overall he believes growing food should be easy, working with nature. He never used fertilizer or pesticide. Instead he would make mini seed bombs(pelletized seed) and toss out cover crops timing it with the seasons. Definitely check out that book if you can. :)

Great project.
We need more and more people like you. :)

Thanks so much for supporting the vision! We all have the ability to uplift our little piece of the world and when our powers combine, we can create the new normal. :)

Wonderful, I have never seen your seed bomb demonstration before :) Hiiiya!!! Love the slingshots!!

The slingshots make it fun and allow for a rebellious feeling while doing good for the community, haha. :) Hope your day has been swell!

It's been a gorgeous summer day, cannot complain! Yeah, my boys would be SO down for some seed bomb slingshotting!!

Haha, I may have had a little TOO much fun with the slingshot. :)

I used to take recreational classes that were located in a park. As I walked there, I would take all my extra seeds and throw them into the areas off the path.
Your ideas are the best especially when there are announcements of sky rocketing grocery prices and coming famine in the real news.
Thank you so much. God bless all your endeavors.

I love that you've already been spreading the seeds of abundance! There certainly is a better way than our current food system. As we reconnect with our food and communities, we'll also realize how much more flavorful and nutritious homegrown food is as well. :)