Growing - Dishware in the garden! – Yes, you can do it too!!

in #gardening7 years ago

My Florida Garden

IMAG0415.jpg
Several years ago I spent an idyllic 18 months in the state of Florida. That is where my hubby and I were married. That is also where I discovered how very different gardening can be in other areas of our country.

One day, while reading online I came across an idea for a unique garden edging technique. I discussed it with Hubby that evening and he agreed that it would make a great edging.

The next day I decided to lay out a new garden on which to use our idea. It was almost 8 feet across with an irregular shape. We didn’t want a square, and we didn’t want a circle, so I just dug and let the shape take place.

Initial garden layoout.jpg

The following weekend we went to the flea market shopping for the necessary items to define the edge of our new garden. We found bargains and we got everything for under $50. Then we went home and laid out the edging to make the most creative and colorful garden edging possible.

Once we were satisfied with the design and layout, we embedded dishware along the boarder. It was beautiful, and then my mind went crazy with all the plants I could grow here.. I discovered, with a little research, that the plants that grow in the shade of our yard in Florida were very different from the sun loving plants I was used to in my South Texas garden.

Garden 02.jpg

Hubby’s boss had a huge garden and offered to give us as many Elephant Ear plants as we could dig and haul away. I was ecstatic. So we grabbed shovels and a plastic tub and made the trek to the bosses home where we scored big!

Lots of elephant ears.jpg

Back home we put the plants in the ground, along with several other plants that I had purchased at a local garden center. This was my first experience with a shade garden and I was excited to see how it would come out.

SAM_0662.jpg

Several weeks later things were doing beautifully. The elephant ears had put on more leaves, the impatience was blooming, and the coleus was peaking out of the dirt.

SAM_0663.jpg

There were other plants too.
Here is a picture of the garden after a few months growing.

IMAG0415.jpg




Sort:  

I love it! I should start collecting thrift store dinner ware to do a small area like this :)

You can always have mamakirbs pick up some at the garage sales! Thanks for your kind words and more importantly for your mentoring. You make my day!

beautiful! following! i'm a nature photographer too!

Thanks @cainplant, I really enjoyed living in Florida as there was so much to photograph. The part of South Texas I live in has so much heat and drought that there isn't as much to photograph.

I think you are creative person! I like your ... art? Yes, it´s
Art of realization of yours ideas. Have you any others ideas? You are great.

Thanks @podnikatel, I appreciate your kind words. I have quite a few different outlets for my creative ideas. I will be posting more of them as time goes by. I look forward to hearing what you think of my efforts.

such a great idea Kate! Love the pretty edging with plate!! Elephant ears are just wow!

@rena64, I wish the elephant ears had survived the trip back to Texas. Unfortunately it is just too hot and dry where I live to successfully grow them. Maybe if my "Back To Eden" garden is successful I will be able to grow them again. Again, thanks for your kind words.

Congratulations @katedansyng! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Have you heard of Hellebores plants? They have so many different kinds and they're shade loving!! You might be interested! <3 They're one of my favorites.

I've never seen a china plate edged garden! How cool! It is very cool and colorful!

Yes farmstead I've heard of Hellebores, however, unfortunately my little corner of South Texas has very little shade. IF I were still in Florida I would have a whole garden full of them. Thanks for your kind words.

That looks lovely! I really like the dinner plates :D

Thanks Flo, it was an awesome garden but when we moved back to Texas we had to leave it there. Maybe one day I can make another.

very exotic garden thank you for sharing sorry I'm late reading this I'm playing catch up :/

@freakygeak, so glad you caught up and saw this one. Botanical art is a wonderful medium and when the items are dry they are so easy to share and display in unexpected places. Have you ever reached to turn on a light and found flowers surrounding the switch?