Window garden

in #gardening6 years ago

Lots of people don't have space for garden. So I think how to made or find a little space where we can grow our vegetables and I find a windows. There are window sill where we can put pots with flowers or pots with vegetables. You can put pot inside or outside side of window, where you have more space. You can take 50 cm (1,64 ft) long and 10 cm (3,94 in) wide pot. Pot can be little shorter/longer or little narrow/wider too, what you find in shop. It possible that you take the same size that sill is.

In the pot put some soil, hummus, what you find around you or you buy in shop or from the farmer. If you buy from farmer you can buy normal soil and dung. In the pot put some soil 2,5 cm (1 inch), then dung 5 cm (2 inch) and in the end soil again to the end. In the end you pit in the soil some seeds and watering.

My project

I don't do window garden, but I put dung and soil in the wooden trough that I found around the house. I put it in the cement blocks/boards that we have in the middle of garden, put inside some dung and soil from the molehills. I saw some mix lettuce in it, watering and waiting. In one month you can pick first lettuce. Here are some pics from my project. And in the end what I learn in this project.

20180522_165605[1].jpg
After 11 days from sawing.

20180529_112055.jpg
After 17 days from sawing.

20180531_091726.jpg
2 days later

20180607_185906.jpg
Less than 1 month from sawing I pick it first time.

20180607_190031.jpg
Lettuce for eating, so soft and jummy.

20180607_185924.jpg
Where I have this trough, how look like in cement blocks/boards.

During my project I realise that it's possible grow lettuce in small pods, but you must find enough small species of it and be carefully how densely you saw (must be saw more seldom), and you must pick it so frequently.

Sort:  

we started something similar, but from these lidl small cardboard plant pots - that have now grown into beautiful plants.

I have seeds tomato and pepper from Tedi (Mini Garten) and I have a few big plants of tomato and pepper now in the field. I realise that seeds buying for low money is better than ultra super special seeds for big money.

sure. but I meant, the small pots received as ”gift” in the current campaign, for buying for more than a certain amount. they are fun for children to deal with and for adults to eat them (I can barely wait for the chilly peppers) :)

Ok. Wow. Good idea.

haha I need to create one of these myself, I love the look of it.!!

Cool

oh nice u did good job ...