You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Kind of Ripples Do You Want to Make?

in #gardening7 years ago

You're really doing a good thing and it makes me happy! I've always thought the government should encourage people to grow and raise their own food- for insurance against disasters and food shortage if nothing else. Of course the world doesn't work that way and in many cases the small producer is actually discouraged. Overall genetic engineering is the worst threat I forsee to the food supply and I liken it as morally equal to experimenting with genetics of humans themselves. Instead of big corporations it's better when more food is made by more people who learn to waste less! I'm a bit of a hypocrite but at least there's an apple tree in my yard haha. Am I too late in the season to plant now? You've made me feel like sticking seeds in the ground!

Sort:  

Stoked that you dig the vision! Whereabouts are you and I'd love to offer any advice I can. I think it's always a good time to get your hands in the garden even due to the simple fact that the microbes in the soil raise our dopamine levels and make us happier. Not to mention, we're grounding back to the earth. I agree that genetic engineering is a disaster. Life should not be able to be owned or patented. Here's to the revival of heirloom seeds and the art of seed saving!

I'm on Vancouver Island. I just looked up the zones on a chart which calls it a zone 7b.

Nice! I'm basically zone 7b too since I'm in the mountains outside Asheville, NC. I think it's a great time to start a fall garden. Do you have a yard or are you thinking of growing in containers?

Two raised 4x8 beds in full sun is mostly what I have to work with. Besides those there is no real plot just small areas alongside buildings which could maybe work.

You can definitely do a lot in two 4x8 beds, especially if you build some trellises to utilize vertical space well.