SCORE!!! The crate we didn't know we needed! FOR FREE!

in #gardening7 years ago

When my hubby calls and tells me he got me a surprise, I can't get home quick enough. He's never disappointing me with his goodies ! I've been surprised with hose sprayers for the garden , and ho's and shovels, a tricycle for our daughter.... the list goes on! This time though?! BOOM! box.jpg
BUT WHAT WILL I TURN IT INTO?
Here are some ideas bouncing around in my head:

A portable rabbit tractor so Fergus can graze unbothered

Fill it with dirt, and make it into a garden

A brooder for our chicks next spring

Fellow Gardener, Homesteader, Human...... help me turn this box into a fantastic addition to our home!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As always, thank you for taking the time to follow and read my stories. I truly enjoy getting to know all of you!
Have a beautiful day !

Sort:  

I would say stay away from wood for poultry brooding for sure, it gets pretty gross.

But, everything else sounds like a good deal! Maybe something for the rabbit! Make sure there's a wire bottom to it so he doesn't dig out of it! :)

I LOVE FREE WOOD STUFFS.

Oh great point! Good thing you said that, I wouldn't have taken that into consideration on my own!!
I could probably just use a staple gun to attach the chicken wire?
Thank you for your input! (:
This crate held a big industrial engine from my hubbies day job!

Yeah! That's what I do when I build stuff with the wire, just the staple gun. So far so good!

The only issue I can see is making a door!!

Got a piece of plywood? It's not hard! :) Just need some hinges and a hook and eye latch!

Yes we have extra plywood hanging out. Where do you think the best spot for a bunny door would be? the very top

Only if you can reach in the far corners! I would make one whole side a door, that way it will have protection from the sun and wind too.

Congratulations @raisingsawyer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!