Corn?

in #gardening7 years ago

A mystery plant sprouted up in one of my apartment complex pots. I thought it looked like corn and I still do, yet I want confirmation. No one planted any so how it came to be is unknown (birds?).

IMG_1161.JPG

IMG_1163.JPG

Another is growing in one of my tomato containers. Since the tomato plant is almost dead, I'm letting it grow. So, anyone out there that has grown corn, can you tell me for sure? I really want spontaneous corn!

IMG_1164.JPG

Sort:  

Very interesting! I bet it was in the birdseed I put down! I guess I have bonus birdseed.

Sorghum! It'll attract nice birds to your yard :)

Thanks for confirming! Should I just let it do its thing? What I mean is, will it just drop the seeds or will I need to harvest them?

I really don't know if I'm doing it correctly but i usually wait for them to dry then shake the seed out in a paper bag

That sounds like a good method.

I love that you have sorghum just having a good time growing there.... lol

Nature is awesome!