Our Seedling Journey! [PS I suck at growing plants and also have no space please send help]

Hi everyone,

For those of you living in South Africa, you might have seen these little guys around. A South African super market, Checkers, is always having promotions like these to bring in more business, and this is the first one that I think is taking a step in the right direction. For every R150 you spend in the store, (plus minus 12 American Dollars) you get one of these little packages for free. My mother does her grocery shopping at this store, so lucky for us we are getting quite a few!
IMG-20180509-WA0001.jpg
It is marketed towards kids, which I love, because this will hopefully get more kids excited bout growing food. You all know I am one big adult child as well, so I am joining in with the help of my partner, big adult child number 2.

I have also recently decided to move over to vegetarianism, and I will have a post up about my first week's progress soon, if you are interested in that, so (possibly) growing some fresh vegetables will be amazing.

Let's get into it:

As some of you who have been following my blog for a long time will know, I tried to build a garden once...

...and let's just never speak of that again because that was a truly horrific attempt.

I am going to try again now that I have hopefully learnt from my mistakes. Another problem we are facing is the lack of space. I will be planting them at my boyfriends house, since that is where we spend most of our time, and he has a garden, but he also has a fairly large dog who loves to dig, so you see where my problem lies. We have decided to move vertically, and try to make some sort of window box when the seedlings are ready to be replanted, but we have absolutely no idea how we are going to do that, so that should be fun.

If you would like to join in too, please do so! The more people we have growing their own food, the better. We will be trying out the Checkers seedling thingys, but you can easily recreate them!

Day 1: Planting Day

We are going to be following this little tutorial from the checkers Website if you are curious, but all you have to do is follow the steps on your seed packet.

Ah yes, nothing like a child pro gardener to make me feel even more shit about never being able to keep my plants alive.

We started off by following the instructions, and planted all of the seeds that we collected. As we get more, we will plant those too and add it to the rest. We put them all into a container next to a sunny window, and now we wait! (and pray)

The seedlings will stay in their little biodegradable pots until they are ready to be planted in bigger pots.

IMG-20180509-WA0003.jpg

As part of the kit, we get this little soil disk, and once water is added it turns into enough soil to fill the little biodegradable pot. The seeds are added, along with a little flag with some info on it, and done! Now to just remember to water them..

IMG-20180509-WA0002.jpg

IMG-20180509-WA0000.jpg

Here they are, looking cute and sweet in their little container next to the window. Now, to wait and see if they actually grow. I'm curious as to whether these mass produced free seed 'gifts' will actually work, a lot of people are skeptical about it.

I will have an update within a week or so, when some of them are supposed to have started sprouting. Fingers crossed!

Thanks so much for stopping by, and if you have any gardening tips, feel free to leave them in the comments, for me and anyone else who might be here hoping to start up a garden of their own!

Have an awesome day!
Logopit_1518427189200.jpg

Sort:  

good for you , but I have no tips not into gardening , I moan at cutting the grass x

haha I know the feeling!

; ) have great day x

I struggle with plants to. My husband jokes that our house is a hospice for plants. They come here to die....

Have fun and just experiment!!