#gardenjournal for October: additional, birdseye photos!

in #gardenjournal2 years ago (edited)

Dearest Garden Lovers!
**This is a follow-up post to my first early-October update video here.**

A few of you who have been following my garden adventures, have inquired as to the overall layout of the space, and I have not found this easy to express online.... But yesterday I was helping the owner by climbing up onto a balcony and trying to unblock a locked door from the inside....

It wouldn't unblock, and I was stuck inside a good while.... So I popped over to the other side of the building, to get a view of the garden from above: it was a thrill!!

The immediate impression is of such green lushness, though it is not so clear unless you know the plants intimately, how it is laid out!

Either way, it is also wonderful to get a view of the whole space, including the wilder part below... And the wider, panoramic context:

When I first worked on the gardens, 13 years ago, it was mostly bare, dry and with not much soil. The old town was in the latter phases of abandonment, and it had been little maintained in a couple of decades. The gardens were extremely, deeply overgrown all around us - and this man was one of the first to invest a lot of time and energy in restructuring house and garden, having taken advantage of the low property value at that time.

I'll try and get a before and after post together, if I ever find the photos from late 2009 and early 2010, when I started working on the bare bones of the garden: such a joy to think back, and to appreciate my own hard work in bringing this garden to the beautiful, fruit-full state it's currently in!

Tante belle cose a tutti!
Clare.

PS AAAARGH: I am so annoyed, Ecency App changed the post to sharing just on my blog, instead of HiveGarden like I'd set it to earlier. Now I can't change it and all this fiddley wirk tapping away on a tiny screen might not be seen by the community. Boo for technology making choices which we didn't make!

Sort:  

Looks like a beautiful, slightly cultivated jungle. You have done and are doing great work :^)

Thanks so much, Vincent! Yes, huge work over many years; now is the time that it is becoming easier and more harmonious - less striving and more pleasure-full tweaking 🌈💐🌍🙏💚

The photography is beautiful and amazing 😍😍

Thank you, @sommylove - I so appreciate your encouragement 🙏💚

You are highly welcome 🤗🤗

Awesome greenery, must be a sight in person, I've had issues posting in wrong communities also it is annoying.

Thanks for this good comment, dear @rickthor - and yes, it is a glitch that I hope @ecency figure out. 🙏🌈💚🐒🌞 And absolutely, the garden gets more divine every season 😍🥰💗

Where are you located ? Italy?

Yes, inland from Napoli and Roma 🌍

Awesome hope I can visit one day I'm in Mexico

Hi,
Could you describe issue more in details? Did you select wrong community or it was application that did wrong selection for you or something else caused it?
Thank you!

Ciao @ecency ! Thanks so much for your reply here: so; in beginning the post, I set the community, title and hashtags first, then went down the page writing the post. Writing the post on a smartphone is all-consuming and I was busy checking the myriad spelling errors - once I'd finished and clicked Publish finally, the post had reset itself to 'My Blog' instead if 'HiveGarden' as I'd originally selected for the community I wanted to share it in. This has happened many times, and I usually catch it before publishing....

Hi,
Could you describe issue more in details? Did you select wrong community or it was application that did wrong selection for you?
Thank you!

Hey no problem about the ecency stuff up, these things happen! Don't stress. Sorry I took so long to get to it though - busy busy and am only getting around to the challenge posts now! Love that you finally got an aerial shot - you definitely have one of the most picturesque views ever and I love the secret aspect of your garden and it's mad tangle - it's truly a fantastic place!!!! Has property gone up there recently?

Ohhhh, thank you so much dearest @riverflows ! 🥰 That means a lot: my frustration with limited-and-failing tech right now is acute, and it takes a great effort and time to get a post up.... At the same time, YES - it is such a glorious view, and this season has particularly magical sunsets and the like

And were you meaning, have house prices gone up? Yes, mostly - though the older and un-renovated properties have stayed very low; I believe that there are still fixeruppers for under €10,000 - if one speaks to the old folks face-to-face in their language 🙂

Thanks again for your good response - I look forward to participating more, as/ if my tech improves!

Oh tech issues are so annoying!!! Nevermind.

Wow that's so cheap! Couldn't get anything close to that here!!!!

Your garden space is really lovely, spread as it is across the hillside. It's so different from what I have here in East Hawai'i, yet equally beautiful in its own unique way. It's pretty wonderful to be able to work with plants and land over the course of years, seeing how it changes and unfolds. I'm happy that I got a chance to see your garden space, and the amount of love that you put into it! 😁🙏💚

Your beautiful comments are so very welcome, dear friend! I love sharing gardens and inspiring each other: looking forward to posting a November update - we're actually having an unexpected second wave of zucche, wuth our crazy never-ending summer.... I'll be harvesting an even bigger zucca soon too! 😊🥰🙏🌿🌈 Happy days!

Your beautiful comments are so very welcome, dear friend! I love sharing gardens and inspiring each other: looking forward to posting a November update - we're actually having an unexpected second wave of zucche, wuth our crazy never-ending summer.... I'll be harvesting an even bigger zucca soon too! 😊🥰🙏🌿🌈 Happy days!

Likewise, very much! Sharing love and passion for plants and gardening is among my favorite things! And yes, the new ideas and inspiration that comes from it is so beautiful and amazing to me! I'll keep an eye out for your updates! 😁🙏💚⚡💥🔥✴️✳️❇️👣🌱