🌺 SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge 2 (Join Or Resteem And Win)

in #gardenjournal20186 years ago (edited)

What’s going on in your (vegetable) garden at the moment? Show us your garden update or resteem this post and win!

gardening journal.jpg

SteemIt Community Garden Journal: Part 2

A little over a month ago I started the SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge.

In this post, I asked every gardener to share some pictures of how his or her garden looked at that moment.

The idea was to repeat this every month, and so create a real SteemIt Garden Journal, which would allow everyone to keep up with the progress in his garden.

In spite of the little delay, the original plan hasn’t changed.

Last time we could take a look into the gardens of @alaskahippie, @walkerland, @wizardave, @ginnyannette, @thelaundrylady, @goldenoakfarm, @a1-shroom-spores, @lynncoyle1, @mhm-philippines, @riverflows and @elsiekjay.
Will you join them?

(Sorry for the name-tagging. Since I've been away for a while I thought I'd let you know about the second edition of this challenge, considering the delay.)

bar83.gif

Who Can Enter?

It’s very simple: everyone can enter. Whether you have an indoor garden, a flower garden, a farm, a balcony or kitchen garden, an aquaponics garden,... As long as you are growing something, you’re invited to join.

bar83.gif

The Challenge

rules.jpg
Click to enlarge

You can include whatever you want in your post, but please remember that the pictures should be the most important aspect of your post.

filmstrip-2208127_1280 (1).jpg

Show us how your plants, herbs or vegetables are doing. Share what you’ve been doing in your garden. Let us know if you are dealing with things like fungus, caterpillars, aphids, and - even more important - hów you’re dealing with those.

In short, tell us the story of your garden.

bar83.gif

🏆The Rewards

I’ll reward all valid entries with a decent upvote. (I’ll be using a bot for this.)

Also, I’ll reward the top 2 posts with a @steembasicincome share

I’ll also give away a @steembasicincome share to 2 randomly chosen resteemers.

A membership of @steembasicincome will basically give you 1 share in the initiative, which will give you a small upvote on all your posts. The more shares you get, the more this upvote will be worth. You can read more about the @Steembasicincome initiative here.

bar83.gif

Get Started

Prizes will be paid out once this post has reached payout.
This means you’ve got 7 days to get your entry up.

Grab that camera and go out to visit your garden. I’m very curious to see how it has grown.

photographer-868106_1920.jpg

I hope you will see the benefits of this ‘challenge’, and help me build a community of garden lovers, which will grow together and help each other out when needed.

contributions.jpg
Click to enlarge

Ready, Set, Go!

Show me how your garden or balcony looks like at the moment. I bet you’ll be surprised how much it will have changed when you post new pictures a month from now.

logo.jpg
Click to enlarge



If this post is older than 7 days, please support by upvoting my latest post upvotelatest post view latest post
Visit the steempunks discord at https://discord.gg/hGJnpJu


bar83.gif

signature2.gif

Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter


Images source:
Pixabay



Sort:  

Thanks for the tag! I did my update four days ago, so I edited the tag to include #gardenjournal2018. Here is my link: https://steemit.com/gardening/@thelaundrylady/food-forest-update-june-2018-garden-journal-showcasing-photos-from-my-food-forest

Awesome. So I timed it almost right.
I’ll go over there and take a look. Earlier today, I checked all previous entries again, so I can’t wait to see the updates.

I haven’t forgotten about the upvote on your comment I promised. I just need some assistance with that, so I’ll take care of it later.

Take care of yourself @simplymike. Hope to see you up and RUNNING soon and pain free!

you received an up vote from danlupi with voting power of 9.17%. Estimated dollar amount of $0.42

Thanks, @dedicatedguy.
Nice post you have there, with a lot of plants I’m not able to grow here (I think - I should look up a couple of things).
You definitely introduced me to some things I didn’t know yet or had never thought about :0)

you received an up vote from danlupi with voting power of 9.18%. Estimated dollar amount of $0.42

I've been dreading this day...I knew you would remember this 'challenge'; every time I went on my balcony to see my dying plants, I thought, geez, I'm going to have to take pictures of this graveyard soon and show the world my lack of a green thumb :) The weather is so hot here, so I've killed one hydrangea, one green vine, one little miniature tree, but my hibiscus looks great, and so does a little rubber tree I bought that needs watering once a week :)

The upside...Buddy is loving his new lounge chair :)

Rule number one: always turn things so you are not responsible for any negative things happening: you didn’t kill the plants, the weather did. ;0P

I love the armchair, and it’s such a typical cat-thing: the way Buddy sits in it, obviously saying: “Do not mistake, this one is mine!”

When I first read your comment, I actually thought you meant a tree made out of rubber, then questioned for a sec why you would have to water a tree made out of rubber. Sigh... I can be so slow sometimes, lol

hahaha that's funny. Damn weather!

By the way, my cat thinks he owns most of the place. I left the fridge open for a sec to bring Brian a drink...

Hahaha... that’s exactly why I love cats so much.
This is hilarious... 😂😂

Again today, I thought I shut the fridge (really gotta check that seal on it) and came back to the kitchen with a bit of "tupperware leftovers" on the floor. He was trying to clear out his shelf hahaha

you received an up vote from danlupi with voting power of 9.17%. Estimated dollar amount of $0.42

Thanks @danlupi! But I have to ask, why me? I appreciate it for sure though :)

Thanks for sharing, @prostosun.
You have some beautiful flowers in your garden.
And the fruit simply looks so delicious... mmmm

My plan on giving comment upvotes using a bot didn't really work out, so I'll have to give the upvotes manually.
I've upvoted this one at 100%, I will give you another upvote on another comment once I've recharged my VP.

Thanks a lot!

Here you go @simplymike - I used this post as an excuse to experiment with Dtube at the urging of @mountainjewel - but here it is!

https://steemit.com/gardenjournal2018/@riverflows/r99bxgat

Thanks for joining, @riverflows.
I’ll watch it first thing tomorrow morning (It’s almost midnight here, and I can’t wake my girlfriend. She has to get up early tomorrow)

Great idea to make a video.
I will probably try it sometime :0)

Unfortunately, my plan on giving comment upvotes using a bot didn't really work out, so I'll have to give the upvotes manually.
I've upvoted this one at 100%, I will give you another upvote on another comment once I've recharged my VP.

Thanks lovely Xxxx We can but try these things huh!!! Xxxx

Thanks for understanding

Hello everyone, my first publication in #gardenjournal2018. I hope to keep you updated.

https://steemit.com/gardenjournal2018/@jamrubio/my-home-garden-first-part

Thanks for joining, @jamrubio.
I can’t wait yo see those little plants grow up... ;0)

Thank you @simplymike.

Yes, I'm already thinking about how to present the next publication. Very happy.

Unfortunately, my plan on giving comment upvotes using a bot didn't really work out, so I'll have to give the upvotes manually.
I've upvoted this one at 100%, I will give you another upvote on another comment once I've recharged my VP.

I have been enjoying this so much @simplymike! Thanks so much for starting the #gardenjournal2018! I've resteemed in hope that you'll get plenty of participation! :)

Here's my garden update!

https://steemit.com/gardening/@walkerland/welcome-to-the-walkerland-kitchen-garden

Thanks, @walkerland. What a stunning garden you have. I’m still a bit lost for words, actually...

My plan on giving comment upvotes using a bot didn't really work out like planned, so I'll have to give the upvotes manually.
I've upvoted this one at 100%, I will give you another upvote on another comment once I've recharged my VP.

From the Gardens of Que Sera, Sera and Beyond is my post of the update on our gardens. Thanks for a fun contest opportunity! Here's the link!

https://steemit.com/gardenjournal2018/@mamajeani/from-the-gardens-of-que-sera-sera-and-beyond-june-2018

Thanks, @mamajeanie. I simply love your garden. And the ‘que sera, sera’ attitude.
I’m trying to learn myself to have the same attitude. Last year, when my 3 precious cucamelon plants were sick, I was litterally crying while I was cutting out the infected leaves, and eventually had to remove the plants. It was the first time I had them in my garden, and I saw them grow from seed in one of the most beautiful plants. I worked so hard and took care of them like babies, and then they just died on me. Fortunately, I had planted 3 more of them outside instead of in the greenhouse. We ate cucamelons all summer long :0)

But I promised myself: no more.
No more emotional attachment to plants. Que sera, sera - and I’ve learned a lot from it. Lol.

Thanks for showing me your garden. I really enjoyed it.
Now I’m curious how your veggies will thrive in those extreme weather conditions. Can’t wait to see your next update!

Thanks, @simplymike. I've got flowers on the melons, squash and cucumber plants...whether or not they'll produce from there is another story. Where most people get so many zucchini and squash they can't give them away, I have yet to harvest a fruit over 4" long...and that was once! In order to excuse the foolhardiness of my continued insistence at spending hundreds of dollars for the challenge, every single year, I declare it a a mental health necessity, rather than food for survival. ;)

Unfortunately, my plan on giving comment upvotes using a bot didn't really work out, so I'll have to give the upvotes manually.
I've upvoted this one at 100%, I will give you another upvote on another comment once I've recharged my VP.

Thanks for sharing, @erikah.
Watching plants always makes me happy :0)

Thank you, I'm glad you like it :)

Unfortunately, my plan on giving comment upvotes using a bot didn't really work out, so I'll have to give the upvotes manually.
I've upvoted this one at 100%, I will give you another upvote on another comment once I've recharged my VP.

I finally got my garden overview post done, here's the link for that. :-)
https://steemit.com/gardening/@amberyooper/overview-of-the-garden-for-june-9-2018

My plan on giving comment upvotes using a bot didn't really work out like planned, so I'll have to give the upvotes manually.
I've upvoted this one at 100%, I will give you another upvote on another comment once I've recharged my VP.

Thanks for joining, @amberyooper. Looks like you have a lot of ground to cover, I’m a bit jealous, lol.

I’m really curious to see what’s inside your greenhouse too, so maybe you can use the #gardenjournal2018 tag when you post your update, even if you do it when this contest has ended. I have notifications set up for the tag, so I won’t miss a thing ;0)

Thank you!
I'm going to be doing a greenhouse update soon, I'll use the tag so that you see it.

I finally got the greenhouse update done. Here's the link for it. :-)
https://steemit.com/gardening/@amberyooper/greenhouse-update-for-june-12-2018

Wow, you worked harder than I did, lol.
I’ll check it out in the morning - a migraine is kicking in :0(

Wowzer! I'm a bit late to the game, but look at all those amazing entries!!!

  • Proof you put together a GREAT challenge @simplymike!

May 2018 Gardening Journal - WizStead Post #22

Thanks for joining, @wizardave.

Glad to see your garden is doing pretty good :0)

I planned on using a bot to upvote the comments on here. That didn’t really work out, so I’ll have to do it manually.
I gave you a 100% upvote on this comment and I will do the same for another comment once I’ve recharged my VP...

Glad youre still doing this @simplymike! Hope youre doing well, after the surgery. I dont have much time to make a whole post but Im resteeming to share with others. Maybe I can get my momma to do this. Our garden is doing beautifully so far. The Texas heat hasnt gotten to it yet!

Thanks for the support, @smylie2005.
I hope one of you can find the time to show off a glimpse of that beautiful garden...

Don't really have any garden pictures to share at the moment, but I thought I'd find out how the surgery went and how things are going with the recovery now that you've been in it for a while. Are you still using your phone for Steemit, or did you get on the laptop with the stand you bought? Or have things improved enough that you can actually sit rather than be lying down all of the time? Okay, probably not that last one, given what you've been told before, but I can hope, right?

Hope all is improving and that you are on the mend this time. :)

Hey @glenalbrethsen
Thanks for asking :0)
Still on the phone, unfortunately. Only the layout for the posts is being done on the tablet.
But I can feel laptop-day coming closer, lol. I would probably already be using it if I wasn’t so scared of pushing myself harder than I should. I made a deal with myself to take everything super-slow this time. No third surgery for me this year, if I can do anything to avoid it.

So it’s still: lying - walking - lying - walking... I get so discouraged sometimes, I’m so sick of it. (I really hate walking, btw. I’m too lazy for it and it is sooo boring. I hated it even as a kid, ... lol, I guess this is payback time for all the times I refused to walk somewhere.)

On the bright side: I just had a couple of pain-free days; for the first time in like 18 months or so, so I’m doing my best to stay positive and don’t make too much drama. Many people are off way worse than me. (It’s a thought I try to hold, but it doesn’t work 100% of the time, to be honest)

Gosh, I keep on rambling about myself again, not even asking how you are. Shame, shame. Bad manners seem to be turning into a habit lately ;0)

I'm doing well. No surgeries of any kind, though I probably could stand to go walk. Like you, I find it pretty boring. Seldom do I find anything on the other end of the walk worth going for, like over to the park, or even over to the mailboxes. Anyway, we don't need to justify our dislike of walking, not if it's helping you HAVE PAIN FREE DAYS!! That's great!

I do have to say, though, life has a weird way of making us do things we're not fond of. A lot. Not sure what life's problem is, but if karma works on life like it does on the rest of us, it's about due a comeuppance of epic proportions. :)

Wow. Tablet layouts. All right. Well, keep it up, even when you don't want to, do it anyway, and do it for future you even if present you is royally sick of it. When future you is present you, you will thank yourself for it. :)

Wow! Some wise words there ;0)
I’m gonna write that last part down, and hang it where I can see it, to get myself through those days...

Howdy, List this in the IFC server. in the garden section :)

Thanks for the tip, @jan23com.
Gosh, it’s obvious I haven’t been in the channel for a while... so many rooms. I got in and got completely lost instantly... lol.
In the end, I found it. But it took a while (I didn’t see it there, right at the top... lmao)

You are set in newbie too for the contest channel. its set not to allow everyone to post and will take a little time to add names for others to post there, but it won't fill with spam.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by simplymike from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nice contest! tomorrow I will go to my garden to see, what in there)))
#steemitbloggers

Great, @prostosun.
Can’t wait to see what you’ve got going on in your garden :0)

Dont really have any garden infornation now to share but am resteeming this post.

Thanks for the support, @lapb!

I have put this into the @asapers contest Discord room too. :) I would enter but my garden is currently, a sandpit post the ficus event lol...

Thanks, @insideoutlet. I should visit the channel more often, I didn’t even know you guys had a contest room.
But I guess I don’t have to bite off more than I can chew for now. It’s still an effort to try to keep up with SteemIt, Discord will have to wait a little longer.

The ficus event... now that’s a post I won’t forget very easily,lol. I can’t even begin to imagine what the real experience must have been like ;0)

I

Haha yes it was something I never wish to repeat.

Baby step it, do what you can the rest will wait. We are off to pick up our baby so have put some of asapers on hold.

The long-awaited time has finally come? Congrats! Enjoy it to the fullest!!!

Thank you. Yep finally here. Nervous as hell but it will be what it will be lol. 😁

I can imagine it is something that makes you nervous.
But I guess if you follow your heart, it will all be okay.
Enjoy!!

A great idea, and great photographs! I love the filmstrip one! Did you use a plugin to create it, or did you make it from scratch? It is very effective!

Thanks.
I hate to disappoint you, but it’s just a Pixabay image...

Oh well. I had made images like that years ago using Photoshop and a plug-in, but can't remember now how I did it. I had hoped you might be able to help, but I will need to Google it! LOL!

I resteemed it, just have not been able to get to gardening, We went to the greenhouse just today, and got a few Pansies, and a tomato, and some red leaf lettuce, and a few others plants/flowers, but it is just the beginning of planting for us, well a week ago was the actual beginning.

Thanks, @bashadow.
You’ve got to start somewhere :0)
When I posted the first edition of this contest back in April, there wasn’t a lot going on in my own garden either.
I love taking pictures of my garden, starting with pics of the empty beds. When I later compare those with the ones I take a couple of weeks later, it gives me such a feeling of accomplishment :0)

I resteemed the post. That way I'll see it on my page and remember to send you the link to my next garden update. It's been a few days since I did a post on the full garden.

Thanks, @amberyooper.
I’ve just checked out your blog and can’t wait to see the next garden update :0)

Great initiative, I'm not much of a gardener - but I've resteemed the post to get word out. Good luck with the project!

Thanks for the resteem and the support, @whitelite

You're most welcome, ;)

Love this! Here is my garden update! I've been working on it this week! Great timing! :)

https://steemit.com/homestead/@iexplore/garden-update-getting-up-close-and-personal

Thanks, @iexplore.
Very nice post you’ve put up there.
It made me hungry, lol. Better go and pick some lettuce for lunch...

@iexplore, using a bot to give you the promised upvote on this comment didn’t work out like I planned.
Since I’ve been out with a migraine these last two days, I can’t upvote this comment manually anymore. I’ll choose two of your other comments to upvote, so you’ll get the same reward as the others.

OH man! I hope you are feeling better! Migraines are the worst...Hey no big deal! :)

Thanks for understanding, @iexplore

WHAT A GREAT IDEA!! Will be sharing my updates now :)

I love nametagging @simplymike unless it's just pointless attention seeking and this is not. I think we are in a community and we SHOULD be interacting like this when we are thinking of someone. This was a great challenge and I encourage everyone to enter. It's getting into winter now and my gardens fairly glum but I will enter all the same. X

Great, @riverflows.
A lot can go on in a wintergarden too, I guess. (I haven’t really tried wintergardening yet, but there are a lot of crops you can grow during winter. Unless the area you live in is really, really cold, I think)

Well @simplymike ... I will put a gardening post together just so yiu can see! Xx

Thanks for joining, @pretty.dorky.
Some great pics you’ve got there.

This green girl is still watching from a distance while the girlfriend takes care of the garden 🙄
I’ll have her to be a green girl too by the end of this season, I guess, lol.
Little bit frustrating not to be able to do a lot; the garden looks like a big mess. Lots of veggies growing, but even more weeds. (Can’t get her to remove those, so I’ll just have to learn to live with it).
Fortunately, once they are in the ground, the veggies do most of the work themselves :0)

@pretty.dorky, using a bot to give you the promised upvote on this comment didn’t work out like I planned.
Since I’ve been out with a migraine these last two days, I can’t upvote this comment manually anymore. I’ll choose two of your other comments to upvote, so you’ll get the same reward as the others.

Ugh I’m sorry to hear you’ve had migraines! No bueno. Hope you’re feeling better now. I empathize greatly with you not being able to care for your garden this year. I know it must be frustrating. If I could, I’d pull allllllll the weeds!! It’s one of my favorite things to do! So satisfying... like I’m saving the alliance from the rebellion or something. 😛
Thanks for the payout... I’m not worried about it. Whatever works. 😉

That's one upvote :0)
Will recharge VP before I do another.

I completely agree about púlling weeds. It gives me the same feeling of satisfaction. 😜

Thx @simplymike! And thank you for your continued delegation! Without it I’d be dust. I feel like I haven’t made much progress in my own SP. If you need it back for someone else, I’ll understand. 😀 I’ll cry, but understand 😆

You're welcome. And yours was a gift, so you can keep it as long as you want/ need ;0)

❤️

I love seeing everyone's gardens. It helps me plan mine, so show me your gardens guys!

That’s the spirit, @basicstoliving. In my experience you can learn a lot by watching others :0)

I am going to visit my garden this evening. @simplymike, this is a great idea and I look forward to seeing the results. I'm not sure if I will be able to join this time, but I will be following for the future.

Cool, @abitcoinskeptic.
Lol, quite an unusual username for a crypto-based platform ;0)
I hope you’ll find the time to put up some pics about your garden (I do hope I can put up my own post too, lol)

Glad you like the name ;P I found this platform due to my interest in cryptocurrency. I am skeptical when it comes to at least 90% of these coins. Most don't have any use asides from experimental or hustling money from investors. I like STEEM because it actually has a use.
I wrote about my garden here when it was just planted. I will update very soon because now I'm pulling vegetables from it and in the process of making some things with the produce. Now the place looks very different.

Can’t wait to see how it looks two months after :0)
I have the same going on hete: first cabbages have already been eaten, time for a second round of crops.

I agree with you on Steem and it having an actual use. It’s not the crypto that is the future of crypto, it’s blockchain applications...

I never thought about growing cabbage. Maybe I'll plant some of that and spinach after my lettuce plants and green onion are pulled up.
Well, I've finished my post, here is the link:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@abitcoinskeptic/one-thousand-subscribers-and-garden-update
I also reached 1000 subs today, pretty happy with this.

Blockchain tech is very promising. There are a lot of exciting projects in development. At most, there will only ever be a need for a handful of cryptocurrencies, but the prospect of easy money gets people interested in the underlying technology and helps fund startups.

I gave you another upvote on a comment (on your reply to my comment on your garden post) to give you the promised reward.

I saw this post resteemed on @whitelite's blog, so I've decided to come and take a look in...

...and it looks like something I would like to participate in, so let me zip off and take a few pics of things I'm planning for my garden...

Cool, @happyhairdays. Can’t wait to see what you’ve got for us :0)

Here we go. I've simply titled it - Garden Journal No. 1

https://steemit.com/gardenjournal2018/@happyhairdays/garden-journal-no-1

Thanks for joining, @happyhairdays. I love your herbs/vegetables garden preparations. I can’t wait to see how it will look eventually :0)

Thank-you, for the warm welcome :)

My plan on giving comment upvotes using a bot didn't really work out like planned, so I'll have to give the upvotes manually.
I've upvoted this one at 100%, I will give you another upvote on another comment once I've recharged my VP.

It's all good my dear... thanks for the boost :)

Sorry for the delay, @happyhairdays, but here's your second comment upvote as a reward for the gardening journal challenge.

Oh how sweet of you to remember. I've long forgotten about this...

This is a good challenge, I like it. I'm going to take some photos and I'm going join tomorrow.

Thanks, @erikah. I’m curious to see what’s going on in your garden :0)

I'll be back with a balcony gardening report, since our garden is a bit far, I'm not going there now and the photos I have already have been posted :)

Congratulations @simplymike! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Would love to join this fantastic game if not now, next time.
Resteemed this! :D

Thanks for the support, @joelai!

Most welcome!!

Oh this is good contest because I'm coffee farmer
I'm late to get information about this cotest?
I'm also often to review the blog who focus in gardening, sustainable/organic farming and permaculture.

If you like coffee you can check on my blog. Thank you

Thanks, @gayocoffeefarm.
I’ve taken a peek at your blog. You seem to be very passionate a out coffee. I always like it when people are passionate about something.

You can still join the challenge, if you want to. It’s open until the post has reached payout.