You do you, and I’ll do me!!

in #gay7 years ago

Post

Photo/Vid

I repeatedly get all pretzeled up inside with my inability to understand how an individual can be so emotional about something that they will discount another’s own opinion about an issue. Thus stating my opinion is more valuable than yours and you aren’t authorized to have a differing one from mine. I acknowledged this from a young age, this doesn’t lead me into a beloved place in a religious, doctrinal circle. I suppose it could classify me as a meager missionary. In jeopardy of crumbling into the adage of , “You’ve got to stand for something or you’ll fall for anything.” Newly however I decided to tackle the shit out of being me which has lead me to being authentic with myself and these ideas. I obviously didn’t excel or even participate in high school debate. I have never tested the need or had the voice, longing or umph to convince someone else to believe as I do. I’ve often contemplated why? Was it my position in a family of four sisters and a brother? That numbers got the best of me and I was always content to go with the majority.
Today a friend asked me to sit with him at the Logan Pride Festival today. I read an article about Pride. It said the entire event isn’t about identifying as a queer individual; it’s about creating a community where differences of all kinds are celebrated. Stating it’s an important way to fight hate and discrimination at the local level.”
My heart was grabbed by a community that can celebrate difference and love each other without the concern of convincing of even finding it a necessity of explaining their belief to each other. I observed many an uncomfortable parent, friends, and support group freely putting themselves in that awkward position to support someone they love. People collecting together in celebration of that basis that we are all human doing the best that we can. A weary mom doing the best she can to unconditionally love her socially unaccepted offspring. The one she cradled and craved to deliver all the best things in life. Now sorely accepting that same world may not be as gentle to her child as she prayed. Yet she pranced around and adored that girl with rainbow hair proudly today. A sassy teen doing the best she can in the skin she possesses. While I don’t know what this feels like, I believe in each circumstance they are doing the best they can. I caught myself tearing up because it struck me as special. Countless humans in a place where they felt like they can be themselves. People who decided simply to live their truth even when doing so wasn’t simple or popular. Each and every one of them had the courage to say “this is who I am even if you will crucify me for it”. Just like Jesus did.
I accept this may not be the most common religious viewpoint. It may not make me accepted, followed, perhaps even liked. Maybe even spoken to at the local Walmarts. But this is who I am, even if you will crucify me for it.

Sort:  

Upvoted by @parkshinnyung , upvoted community helps minnow steemit