Addiction Almost Ruined His Whole Life...

in #gem3 years ago

image.png

HUGE @recoveryinc shoutout to Jason Bateman and his sobriety!!!

Hollywood Jason Bateman has reached an all-time high in his acting career, but his long-running battle with addiction almost destroyed his marriage and wrecked his life.⠀⁠

♠️
⠀⁠

"It was like Risky Business for 10 years," he says of the nineties. "My parents were out of town, they left me a bunch of money, the car, and the house, and I didn't know when they were coming home. I'd worked so hard that by the time I was 20, I wanted to play hard. And I did that really well."⠀⁠

♥️
⠀⁠

He went on to wed actress Amanda Anka, whom he'd known since he was 18. But his partying didn't stop.⠀⁠

♣️
⠀⁠

After coming home late one night, his wife finally gave him an ultimatum: Quit partying.⠀⁠
But he didn't entirely stop. Things got so bad that she even took a planned holiday in Mexico without him. It was then, alone on a rainy Christmas morning, that he decided to seek help with Alcoholics Anonymous.⠀⁠

♦️
⠀⁠

"Booze was what would make me want to stay out all night and do some blow or smoke a joint or whatever, so shutting that off was key," he told Details. "It's like ketchup and French fries—I don't want one without the other. So that's the moment: Do you want to continue being great at being in your twenties, or do you want to step up and graduate into adulthood?"⠀⁠

♠️
⠀⁠

Bateman largely credits his wife for inspiring his transition to sobriety and turning him "into a decent human being," and Anka gives her husband credit for making that change. "I can't get him off the couch to go to a party," she told GQ. "This is a guy who wants to go get frozen yogurt and come home."

steemit odrau red diamond line divider

Check out my Facebook or my Instagram

Hive Profile

steemit odrau red diamond line divider

Screenshot 2021-03-23 at 7.28.48 PM.png