Her Amazing Transformation Story...

in #gem3 years ago

image.png

HUGE @recoveryinc shoutout to Ashley and her sobriety!!!

🌻Transformation Wednesday🌻

Hello I am 36 years old and my name is Ashley Nowell. I started using weed at age 13. I stopped when I got pregnant with my first child at 18. I was married to my husband and we used all kinds of drugs together. We had two beautiful kids together. ⁠

However, in 2006 he died from a coronary artery disease from using too many drugs in his life. He was only 26. ⁠

I was prescribed pain pills by the doctor for my back after having my son. I was taking them as prescribed by the doctor. By the next year I was taking 60 ten mg pills a day. It got to the point I was working just to pay bills and pay for my pills. ⁠

At this time my mom took me to a private doctor. They put me on Suboxone and I was able to stay off the hard stuff for 4 years. ⁠

In 2011 I was pregnant with my third child and I delivered her stillborn at 8 months. I had a friend bring meth to my house and told me it was better than pain pills so I tried it and loved it. I was taking pain pills and meth and when I couldn't find pain pills or meth I went to heroin a couple times. ⁠

But I loved it so much I knew I could never do it again. ⁠

Drugs made me make bad decisions and it had me pick the wrong guys. I had one guy beat me and then another one had me do things you wouldn't ask someone you love to do. ⁠

I hated the person I became. I hated looking in the mirror. ⁠

So on August 26th 2016 I took myself to a private doctor and got on methadone for a year then the next year I was on Suboxone. I tapered myself down until I was not taking anything.⁠

I am 4 years and 2 months clean off drugs. I am the happiest that I've been in years. I have all my family back in my life. I moved back home closer to my family. ⁠

I thank God everyday for my sober life. It's so amazing to wake up and not need to take a pill or a bowl to smoke to get out of bed. I pray for anyone who is addicted to drugs to become free from that Hell. ⁠

If I can do it so can you. God is good every day.

steemit odrau red diamond line divider

Check out my Facebook or my Instagram

Hive Profile

steemit odrau red diamond line divider

Screenshot 2021-03-23 at 7.28.48 PM.png