Update from the workshop

in #gems3 years ago

Today, I received some nice pictures from the owner of my first cuatro. I don't want to brag about it but they look awesome. I mean the girl is definitely beautiful. But I can't help but to see how much better the instrument looks in her hands. This is the beginning of something new: the gallery of the instrument's family.

WhatsApp Image 2021-04-21 at 4.09.23 PM.jpeg

I didn't understand much when I saw my teacher posting these pictures of the owners of his instruments. One thing is that it showcases which people have given their trust to him as a luthier. That's a fine way to build trust among more musicians. Back when I started the classes, I never thought about doing the same. But it certainly feels a lot like Christmas. Only, this time, I'm the one giving something.

WhatsApp Image 2021-04-21 at 4.09.24 PM.jpeg

This makes me wonder how many cuatros will be in other hands. What countries will receive an instrument of mine? Where will they be played? The possibilities are there. Hopefully, when the end of the year comes, I'll have the answers. Meanwhile, I'm still preparing my first international instrument which is headed to Tolosa, Spain. And would you know it, this one was bought by another girl. A long-time friend of mine from the days of college. However, it is a present for her boyfriend. I have no qualms with that. More work, more growth for the workshop.


Source
Eyes set on the future

For now, the eyes are set in a simple goal, finishing the instruments of this first run of instruments and setting the characteristics of each tier of cuatros. Also, keep studying how to make other instruments and diversify the workshop. Thus, having the opportunity to reach more musicians and keep growing the gallery of owners. Hopefully, all of this will come in due time. How beautiful would it be to know there's a lot of my instruments bringing joy around the world. It's a big dream, but I have taken the first step.


The pictures come courtesy of this gorgeous lady. You can find her in Instagram as @fatimaperez15.

Sort:  

Nuestras coordenadas:

¡Muchas gracias por su apoyo!

I am not particularly familiar with the cuatro or the folk music of Latin America in general. I have a baritone ukelele, tuned D-G-B-E like the highest four strings of a guitar, and played similarly. I also have a 5-string banjo, tuned to an open G chord, unless I change the tuning for certain songs, none of which I play very well.

I understand. It's not that common. Maybe one day it will. The standard tuning for Venezuelan cuatro is A D F# B. Taking into consideration that B is in the lower octave. So it's similar to the soprano ukulele, but instead of having treble in the outer cords it has bass. There are other tunings: G C E A and E A C# F#. These latter tunings are ascending. And the playstyle changes dramatically between the standard and the others. One is more focused in strumming and the other in plucking.