Sort:  

Wow...you must really love her to have quit your job for her.

Forgive me for finding your level of care a bit much as am not very fond of pets. Still it obviously hurts you so am quite concerned.

I think she should go for the Surgery, anything else would just be a palliative measure. Have faith dear, it'll come out fine.

Using a cart is also an option, but am just thinking on the burden it may bear on you guys and her for that matter

Wow...you must really love her to have quit your job for her.

Yes, I do. But to qualify this, I really dislike working for others. Before the pandemic shut everything down, I had been building my own business again. I had it up to about 60% of my current pay (not a high bar as I am paid so little) when I had to stop. It would have come within a few months anyway, so I took her need as an omen to not put it off. Now I can be here with her more.

Still it obviously hurts you so am quite concerned.

Thank you. I know many view animals differently than I do. Years ago I agreed to a cat in the house, on the condition that it not be declawed or fixed. We went through a lot of furniture and to say her howls of heat were annoying would be an understatement. I just felt it was wrong to subject her to that, that she had a right to autonomy of sorts.

I think she should go for the Surgery

Given the lack of success rate, coupled with how often one surgery seems to be a domino effect towards more surgeries, I'm hopeful we can spare her from that. I've been researching alternative treatments and am hopeful that while she is still in stage 1/2 I can help her heal enough the decision to do so doesn't feel unavoidable.

The cart thing I'm also hopeful won't become necessary. Thanks for your compassionate response. It is more appreciable as you aren't fond of furry family members.