Work In Your Own Time

the-eleventh-hour-3107229__480.jpg

There is an old adage that says "never work with someone else's time". It is an adage I fell in love with because it kept me going all this while, its encourages me to move on even when am losing hope, when i think am behind everyone else or when i felt inferior to others.

I happen to come across this adage after my secondary school and was preparing for life in college. I studied hard and wrote my exams well, on having good results, I didn't get admission into a college. Believing i wasn't lucky enough and getting ready for the coming year.

I wrote all my exams the following year with full determination and been optimistic. And again I didn't get admission into any university, and this is where the problem begins. I started having the believe i wasn't as good as my colleagues. Many are already in the university, many are already in there second year. I was so frustrated i was behind my fellow mates and friends.

Am always in deep thought over my colleagues surpassing me and using there success to judge mine. My maternal grandmother who i happen to be close with talked some sense into when she caught me in this deep thought. She told me never to measure my achievement with another person own, even if am way older than the person. She said everybody works best in his/her own time. She told me they were in university before me doesn't mean they will get a better job before me, and even if they got a job, doesn't mean i won't get mine, I only need to work hard and have hope.

I made use of the advice then, not because I wanted to, but because i trusted my grandmother, until when I grew older and starting facing reality,then I knew the real essence of what she told me.

Sort:  

great post sir......reminds me of Ray Kroc who started making McDonalds great late in his 60s

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness