You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Geraniums are Cranesbills.

in #geraniums6 years ago (edited)

Since you have used it, you must be knowing about its plants too. I have two plants in one pot, and only one seems to produce flowers. The other one never has bloomed. I would like to transplant them this spring as they are outgrowing the pot. Should I keep them together, or can I safely separate them? I'm worried that the non-flowering plant will never produce a bloom. My question is "Are there male and female geranium plants? Does one need the other to bloom?"

Sort:  

Hey buddy, the answer is no, there are not male and female plants. In a lot of plants that are grown from seed, there are cases where a plant will not flower, and this can be due to genetic variation. It is a bit like humans...two parents give birth to a son, who has totally differnt characteristics from the parents, and it confuses them, this is a bit like growing from seed, except it was sperm instead. Persist with the non-flowering plant for a while, and if still no joy, then try another plant instead that you know will flower, such as one you buy that is flowering already.