Freedom Point Homestead's Broody Birds

in #ghsc6 years ago


It is that time of the year and our birds are beginning to act Broody. We are very excited about the possibility of baby chicks.

I take a minute to share our setup and talk a bit about chickens.

We have found that one chicken is sitting on 15 eggs, and we aren't sure how many are under the other.

I hope you enjoy what you see and I look forward to hearing from you.

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

You are very fortunate. I have had my chickens for YEARS and they have never gone broody.

Hey @homesteadinmama! I am very blessed. Our animals are alot of fun. Have you checked out @ghscollective?

hi personally, I believe keeping quails as pets rather than egg producers or even butchering them is what I enjoy. I've had my quail for so long now and she's just amazing, she loves people and she is like a cat. I wish so many people didn't kill quails..
ediT
Guys, please don't make the same mistake I did. I lost my bird some time ago and I'm.. lost. I loved her dearly and she's gone because of my own faults. Make sure to watch your birds around other pets, please.. don't loose your birds like I did. Please, keep them safe.

We had one mama hen that was awesome. She hatches out three or four good clutches, and then a dog got her. We now have two hens that sit together and are awful mothers: trampling chicks, breaking eggs, leaving chicks to the elements. And I can't them to get up and go lay! Moral of the story: appreciate your good mamas.

Haha I hope they are good mamas! Not sure yet.

found my first homestead channel, nice