International Women´s Day giveaway: special “flower photo contest” for 30 SBD!

in #giveaway6 years ago

Hi everyone,

Today is the International Women´s Day so let me first congratulate all of our amazing female Steemians on this very special day of theirs. I wanted to come up with something unique today to pay tribute to the “gentler gender” and realized it is the perfect occasion for another special photo contest.

Undoubtedly, flowers are the symbol of the International Women´s Day as they are the most common gift that men give women on this day. Therefore, I decided to pick FLOWERS as the theme of the contest.

flower-1360468_960_720.jpg
Source: Pixabay (Creative Commons)

You can start submitting your photos of flowers in the comments below but please make sure to follow these rules:

  1. Submit only your own photos. Plagiarism will not be tolerated.

  2. Only one photo per person.

  3. Add some background information about the photo with at least 50 words.

  4. Upvote and resteem this post so that more people can participate in it.

The contest will be open for 7 days (until next Thursday). Then, I will go through all of your submissions and choose 3 winners who will receive 15 SBD (first place), 10 SBD (second place) and 5 SBD (third place) from me as the prize.

I am looking forward to your entries. Good luck to all participants! :)


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Charity giveaway + special photocontest for 10 SBD: WINNER ANNOUNCEMENT!

7 World's Continents Photo Challenge - week #23 - vote for your favorite picture of the week!

ColorChallenge - Orange Tuesday - @jon24jon24 in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

Prague/Czech Republic - Tuesday photo challenge - share your personal pictures from your visit to the Czech Republic!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  
There are 4 pages
Pages

Happy Women's day to all the lovely ladies here (including me :D). I wish I could participate in this contest, but sadly, I don't have any picture right now.

The amount of entries is overwhelming! There are some really beautiful flower images out there. However, some great entries are not following the guidelines set in the post. Kindly go through it again to make sure your entry is in compliance. One of the common issues with some of the entries is a missing 50 word description. Have a great night everyone! Tomas

I noticed many do not include the description and I really enjoy the stories. I hope your reminder will prompt more words. Thank you for hosting this awesome contest. I've finally decided which of my flower photographs to share and I'll make sure to write at least 50 words. Following you for more great ideas!

You are going to have a lot of entries at the end of the week to go through. Prepare for a long day. I am guessing there will be around 300-400.

LOL, yeah, a lot to choose from with some amazing ones! I am dreading it already:)

Really a great way to honor women on women's day. keep it up @czechglobalhosts

This my today's photo for a competition and a congratulation of all women on the international Women's Day. The choice of this photo is connected with weather which was in Moscow today. The first days of spring this year were very cold and snow, but today at last there was the sun. And though on the street all the same for the present a frost, sunshine have added festive mood. And all city has been filled up with snow, ice and flowers today!)

I85F0377.jpg

For this special day, I have chosen a flower I've taken of a friend's special day - a flower of a wedding cake. In my opinion, everything in a wedding the bride will always remember as they have most likely would have put all their thoughts and energy to make this special day memorable for themselves and the rest of the guest. Then, the bride will start a new journey with her dream partner and live happily ever after :). Happy International Women's Day!

IMG_1512.JPG

Thanks for holding such a meaningful contest. Here is my entry for it. Women's Day stands for equal rights and equal opportunities. On Women's Day, I had half a day off. So, I together with my colleagues went to the nearby park to enjoy the beauty of nature. Have you noticed the bee staying on a white flower? Hope you like it. : )

Camera used: iPhone 7 plus

Very nice photograph! It's fun to find insects on flowers and get a close look. Happy to hear you had time off work to enjoy nature. I almost entered a photo I took in my sister's yard, with a bee on a flower, for this contest. Instead I chose a tulip photograph this time :)

Wow,it's cool!We took photo of the similar sight. Hope you can win this prize!😊

Photo of the Queen of the night. These flower only bloom at night and last one night. For this reason it is difficult to photograph them from the technical point of view. I took this photo back lighted and using a tripod. This flower is from my garden.

Neat! Thanks for sharing the information. This is an interesting species and excellent photograph!

Thank you for your nice comment.

Thanks for the info.

These flowers grow in my dacha. Every spring they bloom in purple. They are especially beautiful after the rain early in the morning. For this photo, I woke up around 6 o'clock in the morning just after a little rain.

IMG_20170509_151408.jpg

20180214_153504.jpg
Beautiful Roses
Taken from my Samsung Galaxy Note8
Feb. 14, 2018

Women love flowers. My main favorite are roses. Red roses have a special effect on me. That's why every Valentine's day, my dear husband don't forget to give me red roses just as a reminder of his love for me. This photo was taken on the recent Valentine's day this year and I displayed it in our dining room. And in life, you gotta smell the roses sometimes, there is truth on this saying.

@czechglobalhosts Gratitude for hosting this contest i.e. for recognizing and commemorating the value of women in our society.

For this particular contest, I chose a macrophoto of a special flower: the Sedum rubrotinctum flower. Although very small and delicate, its beauty, when carefully appreciated, is truly stunning!
With this photo I want to show that, sometimes, true beauty is not at first sight, but instead when we pay attention to the small details that pass us by on most days :)

Camera: Canon PowerShot SX50 HS

Exif: 1/800s | ƒ/4 | ISO125 | 9 mm

Thanks for sharing the lovely photo and meaningful words. I agree with your thoughts and enjoy taking a close look at nature:

With this photo I want to show that, sometimes, true beauty is not at first sight, but instead when we pay attention to the small details that pass us by on most days :)

IMG_20180308_164943.jpg

This "Mimosa" was given to me today by my girlfriend on March 8. In our country, if you see small twigs with yellow beads everywhere in the flower shop, then March 8 is just around the corner. Just a few twigs of mimosa are waiting for the lady in the spring festival. Tulips, of course, also did not cancel, but mimosa - it's so tender and warm ... and there is not much warmth after winter. resstem

We took this picture during one of our trips to Epcot during the Festival of the Arts. This festival is right before the Flower and Garden Festival so you get to see all the wonderful flower/topiary displays throughout each country. This one, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, is in Germany. Naturally since Snow White was from Germany. The Seven Dwarfs are lined up behind her and it's a bit hard to see in this picture, but they're there. Everything in Snow White's body is made out of a plant/flower. I thought it was pretty neat.
Click on the picture to see it full size.
Enjoy!

fullsizeoutput_2511.jpeg

108.jpg
I have taken this photograph when, we visited my younger daughter's school for admission in elder daughter's school about one month ago. I saw some beautiful flower laying in the garden of the school. So it didn't stopped me for to take photograph of those flowers. What matters if, I don't know the flower name but it is the beauty of the nature.
And the good thing is that my daughter also got the admission in the school.

The colors look stunning.

Water World does not stay away from the holiday!)
Congratulations on the holiday of spring! Especially beautiful girls and ladies!)
Water lilies are one of the most beautiful flowers growing near water.
water lily
I am with a slight sadness and undisguised pleasure, I recall the details of that trip to this wild lake. An amazing combination of unreal weather and a beautiful company.
The water warmed up so that you could swim there without a wet suit. And if in the afternoon we swam and photographed lilies.
But at night ...
Have you ever swum in a wild lake at night among lilies and with burning candles? Candles like small lights also floated on the water. And on the beach sounded a guitar ... and merging voices? Feeling of something unreal and magical ...

A lot of time has passed since then. But I did not succeed in such a trip. It's not for nothing that they say that you can not enter twice into a single water ..

This is such an awesome perspective of the flowers and I have never seen a picture like this before. This is a really great picture and I would love to see it as one of the contenders as a winner in the contest.

Add some background information about the photo with at least 50 words.

Make sure you add some more info about the picture so that it is eligible to be one of the contenders to win. I wouldn't want to see your image not win because of a small technicality. Great job @narchuk!

Thank you!
I enjoyed recalling the details of that trip. Added them to the post.

Awesome! Good luck!

There are so many words that you can describe a woman, selfless, enchanting, sensual, mesmerizing, nurturing, empowering, forgiving, captivating, gentle, graceful, ravishing, inspirational, intoxicating, devoted, vulnerable and plenty more but there's one word that truly describe a woman like a flower : they are IRREPLACEABLE!!. Happy Women's Day to all the women out there! And especially to my Mom, irreplaceable!

Hey @noriaakip, you writing about my mom, right? Nice!

Absolutely @patlu, to all the moms and women out there!!

I enjoyed your descriptive words and agree: there are so many words that describe women, as there are many species and colors of flowers. The evening scene in your photograph is a nice variation from most of the sunny flower entries :)

My sentiments exactly! A woman never sleeps! @mininthecity

Hey @noriaakip, nice! you writing about my mom, right? ;)

A woman is so unique in every way. Happy International Woman Day to u @noriaakip ;D.

Indeed!! Same to you @esdee !

1-20180303_135418.jpg

Women, in the eyes of the beholder
Come in all shapes and sizes
Similar to flowers, beautiful as can be
Come what may, they may cry a bucket
But they will rise to any occassion
Like Wonder Women, never say die
Instinctively women know what to do
Selfless, nurturing and protective as can be
Float like a butterfly or sting like a bee!

Blessed Women's Day
and to single fathers too.

I appreciate your creative poem and the scenery in your photo.

Glad you enjoyed my entry. Appreciate your comment very much. It is an encouragement as I've not written poetry in a long while. :p

Good Luck @patlu. Poetry and u cannot be 'torn apart' ;D

Thanks. I try. Only amateur here. :D

IMG_20180308_103208.jpg
This is a pink rose from me to women as a gift on international women's days around the world.
My thanks to @czechglobalhosts for reminding us of International Women's Day.

Wooww...
Awesome pink rose..
Women always love pink.. @firman

Pink flowers reflect the softness of a woman's heart

Happy International Women’s Day to all women out there! I took a bunch of this flowers and gave it to my mom during this day.

I have found this flower while I was walking around our place. These are very tiny flowers and i had to capture it very closely so you could appreciate its beauty. I really dont know the name of this one for it’s not usually seen on flower festivals but i believe that this is some kind of a wildflower. I hope this gets your attention. I hope you like it as well :) 3BE97E47-77B1-43D2-B00A-31F69142F088.jpeg

This is my entry for this women's day of @czechglobalhosts

Every women is beautiful in there own ways and the flower is the better reflection of women as they are beautiful and they give life just like flowers gives life to the forests...

This is picture of blooming cherry blossoms which i had click last year in mid of march when i visit tulip garden which is located in srinagar kashmir....., you can see beautiful flower and bee on it,
cherry blossom is also national flower

mmexport1520514790295.jpg

I took this Image at one of our local parks in Edmonton during A heavy thunderstorm. Rain was pouring down and the wind was blowing the petals up and I liked the way the flowers were moving and looking in the storm.
DSC_6285.jpg

Well done! I love capturing water droplets on flowers and exploring nature in the rain :) I'm heading to your blog to follow you because I appreciate your photography and we have common interests.

I captured these white tulips in Keukenhof, a large flower garden in the Netherlands.
There are over 3000 varieties of tulips, with many different colors too. White tulips are popular as wedding bouquets, as they symbolize purity, innocence and respect.
Tulips 🌷 even created the first economic bubble in history, known as "Tulip Mania". In the 16th century, after the tulips were imported from the Ottoman Empire to the Western Europe, it’s getting more and more popular. Until the mid-seventeenth century, as a result of buying up bulbs, the tulips became so expensive that they were used as money till the market crashed. Sounds familiar? Yep, some people compare the cryptocurrency mania or bitcoin craze to "Tulip Mania". Of course there is also voice against this view. I'm not an expert on this, but time will tell.

May I enter with a mixed media piece?

PLF-21.gif

Your artwork is amazing.

This is my entry of flower photo contest on the special day of international women's day ... hosted by @czechglobalhosts. A woman can be soo strong and fight through all the darkness and hardships just like this one lotus has grown between all those leaves and dark but still shining bright and beautiful. Lotuses are not very rare because of which we sometimes forget to appreciate them but they are really mesmerizing and gorgeous,just like that we forget to appreciate the role,importantance and the beauty women’s brings into our lives. .

mmexport1520514634815.jpg this is a photo of a lotus which i took last year from my brothers dslr camera while having a long walk in a small green forest near my house.

The woman, a mixture of love, passion, strength and sweetness, a display of beauty in all its splendour, the woman is like a beautiful rose that captivates with its softness, aroma and splendor. I received this bouquet as a sign of love and affection, the rose a symbol of affection by nature that acquires various meanings through the colors, red of love, love women above all because they are the beginning of life. Delighted to participate, I hope the translator does a good job.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Captura.PNG

I am submitting this picture I took during the Tulip Festival last year. What i like about this picture is the one yellow tulip. It makes me think about how so many people do everything they can to fit in with the crowd, but it takes courage to be different and rise above everyone else. Don't be afraid to be yourself.

wwest170415_9077.jpg

Very nice shot! The yellow tulip is not only a different color, it is standing taller: proud to be different.

It makes me think about how so many people do everything they can to fit in with the crowd, but it takes courage to be different and rise above everyone else.

A wonderful thought to share on International Women's Day. Be proud to be yourself :)

thank you. It's all about not being scared of being who you really are.

Location 🌎 : Lhokseumawe City, Aceh, Indonesia
Taken📷 : @tiazakaria
D154FBDD-6FAD-46CC-AB86-836A11CFF212.jpeg

Happy Women's Day to all the women of the world, especially to the most beautiful woman in the world for me, the wingless angel in my life, the "mother" now your little princess is already a mother, now I know what it feels like to be you, how heavy the burden you carry for my life , not only about my behavior, but also about the economy that occasionally confuses you and tired you in making a living for me, for my food, for my education and for my wishes that sometimes do not suit your condition, your happy mother for all time, happy in the world and Hereafter, I love you, Happy Women's Day, for you my greatest woman.

Beautiful yellow flower..
Wish women like this flower.. @tiazakaria

Thank you so much @janny and I hope like that.

PSX_20180307_220653.jpg
Happy international women's day for all women steemians here. We are very proud of you and we also appreciate your sincerity and sacrifice of women. Because we know how wonderful we are men still born by women. Therefore thank you very much because you have become the most beautiful thing in men life .. keep the spirit and keep fighting .. we love you .. thank you @czechglobalhosts

thank you for our appreciation for us women

Men must thanks for the women..
Because women is a beautiful thing of men life.. @tiazakaria

For this post I have prepared a photo of a bouquet that I gave my girlfriend for the anniversary. I always give her seven roses, but I also want to be always original, so I try diferent colours and decoration. At the same time, we went to one of the best restaurants in Liberec - Black Horse - an Irish restaurant, which I can only recommend.

kyt.jpg

PS: Small advice to all men: Give women flowers, even if there is not a special opportunity. You will see that they will be pleased.

This is my entry this flower contest,

mmexport1520515039989.jpg

This a picture of Lotus.It is aquatic plant which is found in tropical climate and it's root and shoot is inside the water except the flower as you can in this picture..I clicked this picture in pond.It is one of my most favorite flower which i really love.It is also called pink Lotus. As everyone knows lotus one of the most beautiful flower and has beautiful colour like pink, purple, white and others too..It is flower which makes everyone smile..
Hope you like it.@czechglobalhosts
And Happy Women day to all..

Hi @czechglobalhosts, Happy women's day.. This beautiful sunflowers were captured during a Sunday outing.. While we were just on the way to some place in Mysore (INDIA), on the road side found a field full of these beautiful yellow sunflowers and were posing as if for me to take a snap of them :)
I thought of posting this photograph for this beautiful occasion as women's are as beautiful as flowers and both are tender,fresh and gentle.

After women, flowers are the most lovely thing God has given the world.
By Christian Dior

Spring is around the corner. Every year cherry blossoms first in our city.

IMG_3765.JPEG

Now it is still cold and just few of them opened. I took this picture in a cloudy day when I was just under this cherry tree in our neighborhood. I like the lines that the cherry tree branches formed and the bulbs just would be dots in the picture, which are against the a little bit bluish grey sky. I thought it is a good example of point, line and plane. Thanks so much for @czechglobalhosts


Hi dear @czechglobalhost.

hibisco rosa-sinensis

IMG_20180217_143337993-01.jpeg

This flower has history and importance in my life, since in the house of my grandmother's mother, there were many bushes of different types of these beautiful flowers, but there was a very special one in the window of her room, yellow and purple center , which she placed on her bedside table next to her bed, she always told us stories that with this flower her deceased husband conquered her. I mean, thanks to that flower, I exist.

I hope you have enjoyed the story.
Cellphone Moto E4.
Have a nice and beautiful day and again thank you for making this contest.
With love, Carla Gonzalez Venezuela.

Esta flor tiene historia e importancia en mi vida, ya que en casa de la madre de mi abuela, habían muchos arbustos de distintos tipos de estas hermosas flores, pero había una muy especial en la ventana de su cuarto, amarilla y con el centro morado, la cual colocaba en su mesa de noche al lado de su cama, siempre nos contaba historias que con esta flor su esposo fallecido la conquisto. Osea gracias a esa flor existo yo.
Espero hayas disfrutado la historia.
Celular Moto E4.
Ten un lindo y hermoso dia y nuevamente gracias por realizar este concurso.

Con amor, Carla Gonzalez Venezuela.

Photcomp.JPG
Hi everyone,
Here is my entry to @czechglobalhosts competition. The photo is of a European Honey Bee (Apis melifera) jammed as far as it could get in my old Citrus 'Lots of Lemons' (a dwarf Lemon Tree.) This photo was taken early last spring in my old vege patch. Unfortunately this tree is no longer alive :-( R.I.P my friend you are missed!!
Thanks for checking my shot out and good luck to all who have entered :-)

In this happy International Women's Day, I offer this beautiful flower to you my darling @nanazal.
I love you my honey.

IMG_20180308_213217.jpg

Intrested post..
Wish everyone love the post..
Good luck.. @tika.chibi

"The area of ​​struggle for our women is to embellish with true virtue, with light, knowledge and culture rather than success in the field, shape and disguise that must be won. I have never doubted, and are absolutely sure, that our esteemed ladies will not fall below European women, but will be equipped with the light, knowledge and culture to go out on many directions. " Mustafa Kemal Atatürk

Adsız.png

Submit only your own photos. Plagiarism will not be tolerated.

This photo is not your own work. Please remove it from the contest. It can be found here on this website:

http://wallpaperswide.com/field_of_flowers_summer-wallpapers.html

Screen Shot 2018-03-12 at 8.17.05 AM.png

Well done

Beautiful photo!

Thanks Wes, apprecited!

Happiness is what we all are looking for, happiness is what we all are fighting for, and Happiness is what we all are struggling for and nowadays we think happiness is in money. Look at these flowers they spread Fragrance, they spread happiness and they don’t want anything in return. Be like Flower and spread Happiness  Free Happiness 
@czechglobalhosts.

This is a tiare flower, one of my favorite. The smell is hypnotic and if you collect it from the ground and put it in a bowl of water it will become the best air freshener ever.

My pleasure to offer this flower for all the woman reading this post :)

Location: Bali, Indonesia.

Oh nice. I think we call this Kalachuchi. Haha.

Thank you very much for your beautiful words for this day.

7e408717-b6f2-4995-93e4-ce78549c7df6.jpg

This is one of my favorite photos of the poppy, of the two species that I have known, the red poppy is undoubtedly my favorite, for me it represents love. I took this photo in my home country, Venezuela, a day that I was riding by bike with my boyfriend and we managed to see a whole field full of these flowers and I loved everything I saw, I could not help but admire so much beauty together.

Thanks for sharing your story and this wonderful photo. I also enjoy biking and photography. Happy International Women's Day!

First of all I want to thank @czechglobalhosts for this beautiful contest in honor of us women. I congratulate all the participants for beautiful photos!
I, with great humility, bring you this picture of a beautiful flower that lives in the water. She opens her petals when the sun's rays come out and closes them slowly when the sun is setting. I identified myself with this flower as a woman, because I have sincerely remembered the days in which I have faced serious problems, I have felt sad, I have cried... and I have closed my petals... but like this beautiful flower, I have regained my strength and with a new dawn, I have reopened the petals of my soul, to continue radiating love, tenderness, strength and strength every day.

Happy Woman's Day!!
Many thanks to all and God bless you all.

IMG_20180314_143428.jpg

IMG_20180314_143342.jpg

Hello everyone! Thank you very much for the opportunity to participate in this contest. This flower represents the strength and beauty of nature, which GOD concentrated on women.

IMG_20180314_144808.jpg

ABC_7671.jpg
Also in keeping with the theme of spring time, this is a photo of some asian cherry blossom trees in Seoul National Cemetary in South Korea. It is nearing the time of year for cherry trees to begin blossoming, which is a national spectacle everytime it happens. millions of people venture out to areas of dense cherry blossom trees wearing cherry blossom themed accessories, to take pictures in front of the trees themselves.

Beautiful!!

IMG_20170608_125625.jpg

Taken during our last family trip (using Huawei P10 + natural light):
These flowers to me represents ‘sisterhood’
Flocks together like women would
So pretty together that they take your breath away
You can’t help it but appreciate the beauty
They’re pretty to see, but if not handle with care they crumble easily
The thorns were there to keep them safe
If you don’t handle them with great care you could prick yourself
Flowers are indeed one of God’s best creation
That grows in every continent and nations
Whether it’s from the receiver or the giver
They symbolises love, peace and friendships
Happy International Women’s Day to all you lovely ladies on Steemit!
And thank you to @czechglobalhosts for this wonderful opportunity

Roses are red
Violets are blue
Handle me with care
Or I'll prick you!

;)

Thank you for the tribute of " International Women´s Day", Tomas. Here below is my entry for this contest :

1.. botanic garden (20a)-1a.jpg

There's a quote saying " A rose is like a fine woman. Beautiful, exquisite, yet dangerous, if they are held the wrong way ", i think thats quite true :)

This image taken on my last day in Belfast. It's a rainy morning, but i managed to go to the botanical garden and visited this rose flower park. This lovely pink rose flower was one of my favourite. I love how the rain water pouring down to the rose petals and gives a freshness looks.

Lovely. My flower photograph was also taken on a rainy day. I like capturing the water drops on the flower petals. It looks fresh, as you said. Happy International Women's Day!


This is from one of my recent posts.
A City A Story Photo Weekly Contest # 15: The Purity of Lotus | 清净无染莲花

After some research, I found this about the significance of the Lotus Flower:
In Buddhist symbolism the lotus is symbolic of purity of the body, speech, and mind as while rooted in the mud, its flowers blossom on long stalks as if floating above the muddy waters of attachment and desire. It is also symbolic of detachment as drops of water easily slide off its petals. ... It is also to be noted that many Asian deities are depicted seated on a lotus flower. According to legend, Gautama Buddha was born with the ability to walk and everywhere he stepped, lotus flowers bloomed.
Source: https://buddhists.org/buddhist-symbols/the-meaning-of-the-lotus-flower-in-buddhism/

Hi, last year I went with my family to saw the cherry blossoms in Japan in Hirosaki near the island of Hokkaido.

rth.jpg

image
Woww here is the original appearance of the PURPLE JUNGLE FLOWERS I took or the photo with my own hp camera that is SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE 3 NEO, and it is my own initiative also to advance the platform or blog or web steemit. PURPLE JUNGLE FLOWERS is the name I give special for this type of flower, because I think this type of flower has not been touched or detected by the crew researchers and online search website in this world.

Firstly, I wanna say many thanks for your meaningful contest!
Here is my entry - A couple of lotus in the magic sunlight

IMG_7357-2.JPG

Lotus is our country flower - it is symbol of the tranquil and beauty.
A couple of lotus also express for the love, a small bee flying is something the taste of love. In the weak sunlight of a summer day, it seem be a perfect shot that I have taken!

For all, I hope that all of women in the world will be always beautiful and bright as the pink of lotus...
Happy International Women's Day

There are 4 pages
Pages