What is my 2022 challenge all about?

in #goals2 years ago (edited)

So today is 2nd of January 2022.

As I'm taking a long walk I'm trying to put things in perspective and explain what is this about.

I'm writing a book about goals, progress and staying on track, and I am here to challenge myself to write or create something valuable, everyday.

So my posts are not going to be journaling style, this is just for the first days until I explain what this is about and what to expect.

Afterwards I'm going to post actual ideas from the book that you can use in your life to stay on track and achieve your goals.

Since last year's challenge was about tracking only one thing which was running every day, after doing that successfully for 365 days I'm looking to take things even further, a lot further.

And so I'm taking on multiple challenges all at once, all of them being things I have failed at in previous years multiple times.

Why?
Because life is about going further and I want to test how far I can take things.

What's in it for me?
The benefits of this challenge go two fold: on one side I'm looking to master myself so I can enjoy a better life, and then on the other side I'm looking to create something of value that other people can use and make their lives better.

Since I'm tackling multiple challenges at all at once, this year is either going to be about rapid progress or catastrophic, embarrassing failure. But you know what, I'm ready to take any of those because learning is the real win here.

How did I come up with this challenge?
It's pretty simple, I've collect all the things that I couldn't stay consistent at in the past years and compress them all into one big goal. Very convenient, right?

Well, It's crazy because I have never done this before. I've tried different things, but...

And you might ask yourself -ok but what's the logic? If you couldn't stay consistent with any of those individually, why would you be successful taking all of them in one go? Isn't that orders of magnitude harder? And you would be right, at least in theory. But here is why this might actually work. Ready?

Because everything is interconnected and sometimes goals act as a support for every other thing in your life. Let me give you a simple example.

I've always struggled to go to sleep early and fix my sleep, I also struggled with intermittent fasting and having a clean diet. What if doing intermittent fasting as in stop eating around 2-3pm, will in turn improve the quality of my sleep? Do you see the connection? I'm using goals that support each other, again, at least in theory. Maybe the reason I have failed is exactly because I didn't had enough supportive habits to connect them and have them stick.

Maybe picking goals is just like building a puzzle, you have to see what fits with everything else, and if the image doesn't make sense, it's because you are not connecting things.

Again, if this sounds stupid, trust me you are not alone, but I'm here to test my theory in reality.
I guess we are going to see...

For now here are the screenshots
D57B9410-C72E-44D1-BE58-50EC4994EDF5.jpeg

63C45FBA-CFE9-42F0-B837-2DDDAF958BA0.jpeg

9AC600F1-E344-4FD2-B1B2-8BC8A7C3B36E.png

Sort:  

Do you have to add the tasks in there manually and start/stop the timer or are some automatically populated? (Thinking of using this for off-line development task tracking but wondering if it'll overlap the tasks based on auto input. Let's say if I've got a dev meeting in slot A but am also walking.)

No it's all done manual, if you do it you track it, if you don't, nothing gets tracked.

It also worth mentioning that you can track multiple activities simultaneously, but you just have to make sure that you push the buttons when you start and when they're done.

As I'm using an iPhone, it's helpful because I set Siri to respond to my voice command so I can start and stop the tracker using my voice it's very helpful for example if I start doing some push-ups I don't have to open up I just say which task to start and Siri will start it for me and then I tell her to stop.
The app works on Android as well but I'm not sure you can set such shortcuts.

If you want we can have a chat one of these days and we can speak more about tracking time.
Don't worry, I'm not trying to sell you anything, so if you want my help let me know.

I see, that makes more sense. I have an Android so I see there's some limitations in there as it seems to be made for Apple first. Thanks for the help.

Anytime