Weekly Accountability #2: Eliminating Excuses to Train

in #goals6 years ago

This has taken me like 3 days to write. I'm working on trying to find a block of time that I can dedicate to using steemit as my training log. Perhaps a shorter daily log will be more sustainable. Anyways, on with the results!

Results from last week

The format will be the following:

  • Goal : Result (notes)

Athletic Body

  • 12 hours on the bike : 5.25 hours (The beginning of the week it is crucial for me to get on the bike. I failed to do that last week and the results show.)

  • 14 mile (22.5 km) morning commute Thur. & Fri. : Failed (Although I doubled elevation, I only increased distance by half.)

  • Stretching 5 minutes a day : 5 out of 7 days. (I usually stretched it to 15 minutes. Pun intended)

Some notes on the athletic body: The two rides before work really left my body fatigued and I actually made Saturday my rest day. Then I picked up a used trainer on Sunday and spent an hour on it. That was a whole new experience. I forgot what it feels like to sweat my face off! I plan to implement the trainer in the morning before work and for long rides on the cold weekends.

Warrior Mind

  • Meditate 5 minutes a day: 6 out of 7 days (That one day was noticeable, made me get right back on the next day. Most days I did a 9 minute mediation but the 5 minutes was really nice a couple days.)

  • Cold shower 1 minute: I think I hit this every time. (This one is starting to get easier. I also don't have a choice when I shower at work. 😁)

  • Listening to a podcast I don't agree with: I did listen to a podcast hosted by two athletes about endurance training on a low carb diet. (For reference, I'm a high carb vegan. The first episode was a little rough but now I think I'm going to subscribe to the podcast. Although I disagree with some of the ideas, I am able to pull out nuggets of information that I find useful and its good training to just listen to people you disagree with. Trying to silence the eager arguer inside.)

Loving Soul

  • Read 10 pages of The 5 Love Languages : EPIC FAIL (I haven't even picked the book up off the shelf.)

  • Write 5 things I'm grateful for : Kinda Fail (I wrote down 3 things that I was grateful for 4 days out of the week. I think 3 is more manageable for me, for now anyways.)

  • Date Night with GF : Fail (Although we have been able to have a few dinners with no distraction. Speaking of which I need to worry this up before dinner!)

Progress not Perfection

That's what this accountability is all about. I'm just trying to grow more as an individual. I think this format is good but I'm going to try tweaking a few things this week. I think I'll narrow it to 2 goals per category. Try it out for a week and see if it's easy to focus on the objectives.

This Week's Goals

Athletic Body

  • Ride 10 + hours
  • Stretch 5 Minutes a day

Warrior Mind

  • Meditate 5 minutes a day
  • 1 minute cold shower every day

Loving Soul

  • Listen to 4 podcasts about relationships
  • Write down 3 things I'm grateful for everyday

Are you where you want to be?

If you feel inspired to start your own weekly accountability just use the tag #weeklyaccount

Check out my first accountability week here.

Thanks for keeping me accountable! Comment if you have any thoughts or suggestions!


All images from https://giphy.com