Proof That Google Discriminates Against Hive Front Ends

in #google4 years ago (edited)

image.png

The image in the upper left is from my portfolio on PeakD. I used Google's image search to try and find it.

Google shows similar images on the lower part of the screen. When the mouse pointer is hovered above any of those images, the URL of that image shows up in a pop up window like in the image.

What's interesting is that Google can't find my image at all. What this means is most likely that Google's crawlers (bots that go through web pages and index the content) do not index the content (to clarify: I mean the images, I can find blog posts just fine) on Hive front ends at all. I wonder why. Are those sites simply too new? Or what's going on?

Sort:  

I'd guess that it might be because the site is still pretty new and not everything has gotten indexed as quickly, or maybe it needs more time and backlinks to get ranked higher.

I wonder...

I do remember from way back, that there was a process to submit one's website to Google... I wonder if anyone actually even did that with Hive, or it was one small thing that got overlooked in the switchover, with no centralized team managing such usual minor tasks like that... 🤷‍♂️

It's possible.

Google didn't find this image, either. It's stored on steemitimages.com.

Hmmm....

What I've understood is that search engines are not as magical as they are claimed to be by media and others who don't know. As I understood it, links to pages have to be crafted in a certain way for the search engine to even find the page. There was talk at sometime in steemit that if you searched with a tag from google you would get nothing as steemit was not in some way informing google that pages with that tag exists trough it. I won't go deeper as I barely know even this so you have to ask some more professional people.

I posted that image on March 12 this year. Google has had plenty of time to find it.

What links to do you mean? A Google bot crawls websites and indexes all information. When it finds an image, it should be able to store the URL of that image.

Here's what the image URL looks like:

https://images.hive.blog/p/PB8ro82ZpZP2DJYqWdv8qwdFPnFdSQrixPMNvTU9D4q8UVKknKMnCKdFJNvT1MNuuuPoqb99xqRZmQzyo9yTy27A7AV29SX6zUC712e2pVK3fmiW?width=800&height=600&format=webp&mode=fit

I can say that if you search your own name from google, you will not find a link to each and every post or comment you have made. It is simply impossible to get everything from internet. It is also required from such companies as google to not find illegal content so they already omit some of the least visited web-sites. Also like @rok-sivante points out is that the site is indeed new for I remember when I deleted my instagram it took 1/2 year to disappear from the google search.

My main point is that internet is huge and it is necessary for search engines to miss and omit plenty of sites for it would take too long and there could be illegal content.

Sure. And none of the Hive front ends have very high site ranks, yet.