What makes a good post?

in #gradnium2 years ago

image.png
Image source

For this post, I will be reviewing another person's post on Hive to see what made it so successful!

Here is the post that you should take a look at before you keep reading: @splinterlands/hope-tome-of-chaos-story

I was scrolling through my feed, looking for something interesting and then BAM, this beautiful image jumps out at me:
image.png Image source

The artwork is not only amazing, but looks so professional. Also contributing to the professional/official vibe is the symbol on the side and the font of the text, with a subtext that immediately tells me this is part of a series.

DISCOVERY #1: The cover picture on your post is incredibly important for quickly communicating the subject and quality of your post.

As we can see with this post, the professional sense and the general quality of the art impressed me enough to investigate.

As I came to the post and read the title, I realized it was a story and I was sold. I love to read and I am an English major so this post is right up my alley.

DISCOVERY #2: Know your audience. This is just general wisdom that I can't take credit for, but I've realized that there are many different people on Hive with many different interests. You've got to find the community with your similar interests and get involved.

The next thing I noticed about this post was that it had a video AND text and that made me interested. In my class about Hive, we've talked quite a bit about the success of videos versus text, but COMBINING THEM? Genius.

Not only that, the text of the story is broken up by this amazing artwork that really helps you picture the story and increases the overall professional vibe and quality of the post.

DISCVERY #3: Break up text with pictures and if you have a video, also put it in text form, that way people can decide which medium they want to enjoy your content in.

Another really cool thing about this post are these cool art things that break up the text as well:

image.png Image source

Isn't this thing wicked?? It once again adds to the vibe of this post being professional and high quality.

Along with all of these other things, the writing is amazing. The authors (Ashley Roepel and Scott Roepel) use vivid details and imagery and pull at the reader's interest and heart strings right from the get go. It is clear that they are both very skilled.

DISCOVERY #4: Post content that you've put effort into. I am guilty of just throwing things up on Hive to meet a deadline, but if you want to be successful in these communities you need to take pride in each thing you post.

Another thing that was interesting about this post was that it is part of a series that they have linked at the end. If you follow this link, it is super easy to access the other stories that are part of this series (all with incredible art covers), and everything is organized and user friendly. As I looked through the older posts, I noticed that as the posts went on, more and more people liked them and started following the stories.

DISCOVERY #5: It takes time to build an audience, especially with narrative stories.

These stories are also not created by one person alone, but they are done by a team, which is also really cool.

Overall, this post is amazing and is a great example of how to make a good, high-quality, professional post on Hive.

Here's the link again so that I can give credit where credit is due:
https://ecency.com/hive-13323/@splinterlands/hope-tome-of-chaos-story

Have fun reading their stories!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @chandlerd! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!