Feeling grateful

in #grateful2 years ago (edited)

I have tried to get my driver's license in South Africa for quite some time and they have failed me on three separate occasions. One of them purely on the fact that the person doing my test had better things to do as he was taking a call while we were doing the test and he just wanted to end it quickly to go and hang with his friend.

In Korea, luckily it was not the case. I went to the driving school and they had a few classes set up. Sadly all of it was in Korean. So even though I attended, I did not understand most of it. The driving practices were ok though as I understood what left, right and straight meant in Korean.

The day of my test came and I was nervous as heck. Also, it rained. Not just a little, a lot! Pouring down I went to do my test.

Before I went my wife gave me chocolate to keep in my pocket. Apparently, it was a good luck charm and quite popular to keep it in your pocket whenever doing something difficult that you needed to pass. Most students do it when they have a big test. Thinking very little of it, I shoved it into my pocket and went for my test.

With the rain pouring down and a good 30 minutes later I was in and out of the car. They never told me if I passed or not. Only handed me my paper and told me to go to the office. From the look on the instructor's face, I knew I failed. And thus, I did the walk of shame to the office to report my results. I was gutted. I practiced so many times to get everything right. Learned all the Korean phrases for the driving instructions.

I handed in my paper and was prepared to be on my way to make a new appointment. To my surprise, they asked me where my photo is. I was a little confused at first. Then it clicked. I PASSED! They needed a photo for my driver's license card.

As I headed out of the building I was filled with joy and relief. I put my hands into my pocket. There I felt the chocolate. I took a picture right away and sent it to my wife. Showing her it worked and I have passed. To this day I have no idea if the chocolate worked and helped me get some more luck on my side, but whenever I need to face a test again, I will make sure to have chocolate in my pocket again.


Sort:  

Gratitude is a very powerful thing indeed, your wife was the actual lucky charm! Cherish and love her all the support she gave you! I am sad to know that you failed on three times in your native country without a proper reason... dysfunctional driving license system. On the other hand, I am very happy you passed in South Korea. Congratulations, all your hard work eventually paid off and you should be proud of your achievement and grateful for your teachers and wife.

Also, as a side note, funny that you're talking about gratitude and have a Scrooge pic. But then again, even Scrooge got to be less egoistic, selfish, and more grateful at some point, right? Take this lightly of course, it's not about you, but about the Disney character.

All the best, much health, cheers, and keep up the good work here on HIVE and outside of it! Drive carefully as well! :)

P.S.: You just earned one more sturdy follower here on the HIVE blockchain! Have a great day and weekend! :)

Woah, I must admit that was one solid reply. Thanks for all your kind words @vikthor (cool name by the way). Yeah, admin systems are just top-notch here. I still can't believe it sometimes.

Funny about my username. I picked it ages ago but never read too much into it. I did however go and find all the original Scrooge comics since I was curious about Scrooge's origin story. Really fun and in the end he was not as bad as I once thought he might have been.

True story, exactly! I remember reading (or shall I better say looking at) some comics with Scrooge before and during kindergarten when I barely knew how to read but I did understand a lot from the images and, eventually, I got to know the fact that he was not that bad. Of course, he was a wealthy, predominantly selfish tycoon (initially or early on in the comics), but he also loved his nephews and took care of them which was great! Everyone loves a happy ending, I guess! Take care, all the best, much health, and have a great day! :)

congrats on the drivers license here comes the duck on wheels :D

Thanks a ton! Now I just have to save up for my Lambo =P

Wow congrats on getting the license man! =) Its always so extremely stressful until its over.

Hey mate! Glad to see you are still around. I need to go visit your blog again. Yeah, one of the most stressful experiences indeed.

Hello, friend @scrooger

Days ago they hacked my Hive account and sent Nitro virus messages to many accounts.

I already changed the passwords and corrected the problem. I'm inside @qurator's Discord but I don't have access to the lounges.

Please could you restore my permissions to interact in Qurator's Discord?

Best regards

Hi @librepensadora I sure can. Are you referring to the Post Promotion room? I opened it up again for you. Sorry to hear about the hack. That is terrible, hope all worked out for you in the end.

Thank you very much. But before that, I could see the rest of the rooms as well.

Alright, go ahead and check if all checks out for you. I added your roles again. Feel free to DM me in Discord instead of leaving comments. =)

Yes, of course. I wrote you here because I don't know how to send you a Direct Message. I can't find you on Discord