You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Accumulate SteemPower or Sell SBD at the Top?

in #greed6 years ago

Congrats on your soon to be pappahood. There is nothing like it, and nothing, NOTHING can prepare you for it. You have never known love like the love you will feel for that child when you hold the baby in your arms. It is amazing!

I guess I am one of the minority here who is selling my SBD at highs. I sold at $4, I sold at $6, and I sold at $16. I believe eventually SBD will go back to the $1 vicinity, so I'll take the cash while I can get it.

But Mike, you say, Why aren't you putting it in Steem Power?!

Well, half of my post value is already going to Steem Power, and because of the delegations I am receiving atm I am getting about 45 extra Steem Power a Week in Curation rewards. So I am building my Steem. The rise of the SBD gives me an opportunity to invest in other promising crypto. Spread out a little bit and have more rockets going to the moon.

I was able to sell 40 SBD at around $15 over the weekend, that gave me $600 worth of BTC when BTC was trading at the weekend low of around $13,500, I am working on turning that 600 into some other coins I believe in as BTC works back up.

It isn't a disbelief in Steem, but it is a belief that a diversified portfolio gives me the best opportunity for long term success.

But that's my simple opinion, I could be sorry about it down the road... Who knows. We live in interesting times!

Sort:  

Spreading out makes the "its too good to be true" feeling die down a little

I completely understand. Thanks for the papahood wishes :-)

Agree completely - that's how I see (and do) it, too.

My question I suppose is this. Would we be sellers if the rocket was Steem rather than SBD?

I think I would be more apt to hodl if it were STEEM that was the big mover at the moment versus SBD. STEEM is supposed to be the moon rocket, while SBD is the basis for spending power. SBD should give us a dollar for dollar exchange to real world. So taking advantage of highs on something that really should be pegged seems like a good idea. I don't know that I would be selling STEEM at $16, or even $50... if we believe in the growth of the platform, HODLing there seems wise.

Yep, again - agree completely!
SBD is an anomaly - a gift to accept as long as it lasts.
If/when STEEM goes up, it's not an anomaly, it's supposed to do that (according to us ;)) and we will hodl and become even more invested when our expectations and hopes get fulfilled.

Taking profit seems to be the safe decision here. SBD had insane ups in the past and came back to $1 quite fast(in minutes, actually). The current uptrend seems to be a little bit different but if it crashes back, I will buy a good amount in an instant for sure.

can you post a link to the chart of that "minutes long" previous drop to $1?