Consistent practice

in #growth6 years ago

I started a 30 Day beat challenge two weeks ago. I kind of failed to document it well on Steemit, but I’ve remained up to date with it on all other social media platforms. It’s the second time I’ve done it in three months and I’ve only seen good outcomes in both instances.

People say that when it comes to creativity, you can’t rush it. Apparently it’s also not possible to consistently make one good instrumental every day for 30 days. My goal from the challenge is not so much to make the best music of my life, but more to show people that we don’t work hard enough and that 30 days of instrumentals is in fact possible. We always talk about how our lives are so busy and we don’t have any time to pursue our dreams, but with a public challenge like this one, people are forced to make time in their day every day to complete music. I have found that as I pass the 14th day of my second challenge things kind of go into autopilot and my mind prepares itself to make and complete an instrumental each day without having to force things. In the last challenge, I felt a little weird on day 31 when I didn’t have to complete an instrumental. I think I may have made one that day anyway I just didn’t document and post it.

One of the biggest things I’ve learned is that consistency builds tolerance and habit. This habit becomes part of your daily routine and if you can create enough good habits, you’ll end up getting a whole lot more done. Going off the example of the challenge, I will have 60 beats from both challenges that I can showcase and sell on my online store. This ends up working towards building my business which is my main career objective at the moment.

Another thing I’ve been able to monitor is how I’ve been able to improve on the midi controller. I’m no keyboardist but before the challenges, I was only able to play chords of two scales on a controller where now I’m able to play out full melodies and I’ve picked up on another scale. Having to post each day has also refined my video capturing skills. I’ve tried a few new angles and methods so that my viewers don’t get bored seeing the same thing every day. My social media page notifications are looking quite healthy. People enjoy consistent posts as well as ongoing stories that they can follow. I can confirm that I haven’t run out of creative juice and I’m good for the next two weeks.

I encourage you to start your own challenge whatever it may be and document it. You will see how it jumpstarts your accelerated growth.

SB
IMG_9885.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing adrian. Your music is great and it is amazing how Steem can help us all.

Thank you. Hope to see more good things happen.

hola! I like your post! Thanks for it! lets make stemit togheter to a better place with our content! I would like to read a bit more about you and maybe do you have some more pictures?
I also just wrote a introduceyourself. maybe you upvote me and follow me aswell as I do? https://busy.org/introduceyourself/@mykarma/1-jail-review-bitcoins-3-years-ago