Sort:  

You can 'accomodate' me (life is too short to live inside spell check anyway! :)), while I say thanks, I am building several right now, so thanks, I will try this.

so far i have built 2 "ghost" guns from milling the 80% lowers on up. One in .300blk, and the other in 6.5 Grendel. I love both for different aspects. the .300blk because at under 100yds it packs a punch and is accurate, the 6.5 grendel because i can still hit a sub MOA group at 800yds so far... i plan on building a .458 socom and a .500 on the AR15 platform, and several on the AR10 platform. i love the gunsmithing hobby, it is an expensive hobby though. thank you for your comment.

I have a couple of mills in my shop, so I love the 80% lowers! I would like to make the 6.5 (I have a Sweedish Mauser in 6.5, and I LOVE IT!) Grendel. because it is balistically sound, and an excellent choice for this frame! I run an M14 for the punch, so I will avoid another calibre on the 300, even though I hear it is excellent. I have thought about the larger sizes, but I wonder if the design is up to that much more stress.

I have heard horror stories about building to 308, and having stress failures; but I find myself questioning their abilities, and wondering if that is the source of the failures.

hmmm... that's kinda odd seeing as the 7.62 and the .308 are pretty close to the same round with the exception of chamber pressure with the .308 . The failures i've heard occurring is blowing the barrel, due to powder overloads to increase muzzle velocity... but this only happens if you are running self loaded overcharged rounds, i don't think i've heard of failures with manufactured rounds with specific loads... with the exception of them not using a heavy barrel. Sometimes people like to crop as much weight on their weapon as possible while still maintaining functionality.... the barrel is not the place you want to reduce your weight on a high velocity weapon...

I hunt with a 300 win mag, so I Like velocity, and weight is no problem. Yes, people do stupid things! As you say, only an idiot would cut down a barrel to reduce weight! Larger rounds make sense for the AR platform; the 223 is too small for my tastes (I do like to play with them though). I am biased towards the 6.5 because that size has worked so well for me before.

Idiots should NOT reload! The reason to reload is NOT to see how much powder you can force into a brass case, and how heavy a tip you can ram in on top of it! It is a dance with the firearm and ammunition, to find the sweet spot, that gives you a tight MOA, and hits hard.

Sadly there are a lot of 'reloaders' that will never figure that out!