The Spiritual Significance of Growing out our Hair

in #hair6 years ago (edited)

In some ancient cultures, having long hair was embraced, and was often believed to be a sign of freedom, spiritual maturity, and strength. Two of these societies are the Chinese and the Native Americans - who believe that your hair is your connection to spirit and to mother Earth. They thought the cutting of the hair to be the same as cutting off thought from God. Braids symbolize one-ness and unity. Each strand is weak on its own, but woven together physically demonstrates "one mind - one heart - one soul".

Even today, many take growing their hair very seriously - some people will go as far as to say it is like an extension of our nervous system.

e9cd24563da81be7549f0f514f1ffb65.jpg
photo source

Many yogis and gurus think that growing out your hair may play a part in the raising of the Kundalini energy in the body. For those who are interested, you can find more information about yogic hair treatment here Almond oil is recommended to be left in overnight as a treatment for split ends, instead of chopping them off.

As stated on 3HO.org,

The science of hair was one of the first technologies given by Yogi Bhajan when he came to America.

“When the hair on your head is allowed to attain its full, mature length, then phosphorous, calcium, and vitamin D are all produced, and enter the lymphatic fluid, and eventually the spinal fluid through the two ducts on the top of the brain. This ionic change creates more efficient memory and leads to greater physical energy, improved stamina, and patience.”

Yogi Bhajan explained that if you choose to cut your hair, you not only lose this extra energy and nourishment, but your body must then provide a great amount of vital energy and nutrients to continually re-grow the missing hair.

In addition, hairs are the antennas that gather and channel the sun energy or prana to the frontal lobes, the part of the brain you use for meditation and visualization. These antennas act as conduits to bring you greater quantities of subtle, cosmic energy.

I find Yogi Bhajan's insights to be extremely refreshing. During my younger years, I had been, in a way, conditioned to keep my hair shorter, or at least trimmed. I have heard similar stories from others and have come to realize that my situation was not a unique one. For one reason or another, plenty of us have been encouraged to have short hair as opposed to growing it out. I'm happy to say that at this point in time, I have not taken a pair of scissors to my hair in three or four years, and I love my locks more than ever.

8770812753bdf2e3f64d2a0cdad10a2d.jpg
photo source

Length of hair has also been linked to intuitive senses. In the old days, some societies would cut the hair of their enemies in order to dampen their "sixth sense". It has been said that this is, at least in part, the reason why it is a requirement for men to wear their hair short when they join the military - to "weaken their intuitive senses and to mark them as slaves of the military-industrial complex". It's an interesting notion.

Could growing our hair really help us to hone- or at least not hinder -our psychic ability?
And are we missing out on an abundance of energy and vital life force by making the cut?
What do you think?

If there is any truth in what those who came before us believed, I think it lies in that there is a sort of spiritual significance that comes along with allowing our hair to grow naturally and unaffected.

“Our hair fashions might be just a trend, but if we investigate, we may find that we have been depriving ourselves of one of the most valuable sources of energy for human vitality.” -Yogi Bhajan

d86b2b2d2dbd22dc183053239168ca80.jpg
photo source

~ See my recent posts here, if you haven't already: ~

|| MY INTRODUCE YOURSELF POST || Brand New Serger || Latest Work In Progress || An Uphill Journey || Unboxing Organic Fabric || Upcycling a Blouse into Something New || Meet Crypto || My Latest Organic Scrap Creations || Yummy Veggie Stir Fry || Acapulco Eats ||

♡ Wishing you well ~ many thanks to you for joining me on my journey ♡

Thankful for each of your comments, re-steems, follows and up-votes, and for everyone who has inspired, encouraged, or given me tips along the way ~ I cannot thank you enough

~ @hempress

HEMPRESS.gif

Sort:  

Completely agree. Our hair are antennas to connect with the universe and yourself. As we are all one. My life changed for the few years I was forced to cut mine. Thanks for sharing

Oh i absolutly love long hair on women. It is so beautiful. It is a lot of work to treat it the right way ... but it's a thing i can't take my eyes off.

I'm the same way, but for men too (assuming it's nice, anyway) - my ex-sister-in-law is Bangladeshi and her hair is long (to her butt) and beautiful. She can even tie it up without using anything - it's really quite stunning.

I love your outlook on this. I have not cut my hair (or should I say, what hair I have left lol) since I moved to Oregon.

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.quantumbalancing.com/spiritualhair.htm

What a divine photo!!!

Thanks for your comment @riverflows!
All the best!

Great post! I remember reading somewhere about native Americans who could sense people coming up behind them. They then joined the army and had to chop their hair and lost this ability. Haha thats a brief overview can't remember all the detail now.

I would grow my hair but been a bloke and have a job this seems unacceptable for some reason, blooming societal norms hey 💯🐒

I read about that too, but came across a snopes article saying it wasn't true. Not sure but I decided to leave that out just in case.
Fuck the societal norms. Do what makes you happy.
Peace and Blessings.

I think its true but yer best to leave it out for facts sake. I would love too but my work would not agree. With my ten year plan I will be living free in ten years with my own income so will do it then. Plus there is that phase between short and long which really pisses me off haha. Your very right though I should fuck them but am stuck in them for now, it cuts me up. But as I say I am doing it to aid my plan and will be out of it soon 😁 💯🐒

I so agree with this! I haven't cut my hair for a number of years now, and even the last time I cut it, it was for a spiritual purpose - cutting something out of my life... I wish I could get my husband to grow out his hair, I really love long hair on a man. If you get a chance to read my fiction, you will find this is a common theme for me - long hair and a nice beard - actually a man who hasn't got rid of all the signs of maturity! (Unfortunately, thus far, I've only been able to find a good - and free - image that includes a man with short hair... maybe in time, I will be able to fix that.)

I've always been told men aren't supposed to grow their hair, or its for sissies etc... Yet my whole life it never felt right to cut my hair. Then I realized like 90% of the things i've been told, it's all bs. Anyways it took me 36 years to finally grow it out. And I must say I get lots of compliments on my Man-Bun, lol. Human Antennas FTW. They will not be cut again.