Gratitude leads to happiness - Day 21

in #happiness6 years ago

Today I am grateful for our neighbourhood birds - Sparrows, Finches, Blackbirds, Wax Eyes and a few others I can't identify.

We have a small section where we live but we do have a couple of areas where we can feed the birds. It's something my daughter loves doing, but I do too. I enjoy watching the wee birds get some food. Especially this time of year when food is hard to come by for them.

I hope to be able to make a bird house to feed birds from when we are at our next house. I like to feed them but I want to keep them safe from the cats too.

We went to the pet shop and bought some food for small birds and it's perfect. It doesn't tempt the larger birds around so the wee tiny birds (baby birds as my daughter refers to them) gets the food without being chased away.

It's such a delightful thing to do and part of our day now is to feed the birds. We throw some out and wait for the first one to spot it, then we the rest soon arrive.

IMG_20180814_130425.jpg
This was from the weekend when we had what looked like most of the sparrows from the area on our tiny lawn.

It kept us entertained for a while and made us smile.

Sort:  

Great idea, I should get around to doing up a bird feeder too.

Not sure when I would do that, but it is most definitely a great idea XD

Were you referring to a couple of areas in your yard or in the wider neighbourhood? My aunty and a neighbour will often throw meat for some local magpies who will regale them with song when they believe it's feeding time. My aunty told me a story of how she was quite convinced for a bit that she was haunted as at one stage she kept hearing a knocking on the door but when she answered it, there was no one there, she didn't see anyone running off and the dog wasn't barking (so not prankers). Eventually she saw a magpie sitting on the carport wall staring at her and figured maybe the bird was knocking XD

We just feed them in the front yard at our house. It's not ideal but still enough space to get them fed! That story about your aunty is hilarious! It made me laugh. What a cheeky magpie! So funny.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @ecentrally! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android