Dance your way to a better mood! ❤️

in #happiness6 years ago

When you don't know what to do, have a dance party!

When Kai was a tiny newborn he had a thing called reflux... if you don't know about it just know it's terrible. Every time he would lay down he would be so uncomfortable he would just cry and cry. One night in the middle of the night after trying everything we could think of we simply threw on some old 90s r&b and danced it out! To our surprise it worked! Kai seemed to be soothed by the gentle swaying of our hips and the smooth vocals of Keith Sweat! Lol

image.jpeg

That was the beginning of our very regular dance parties! When nothing else works we resort back to flipping the music on and getting a bit crazy! It seems to work for everyone too! We simply wiggle the cranky out of us now! Bahahaha! No better way to start the day then with a family dance party!

image.jpeg

After a little research I have found some reasons why dance parties are so magical! Well first dancing, like all other physical activities releases endorphins and endorphins make you feel good so BAM! Dance dance! Oh and then there is also some magic in the music as well! Music can take you away to a different place, it sets the mood, it can trigger a memory and transport you to a different time, and of course it can sooth you, hence why babies sometimes fall asleep to music. All in all the combination is a powerful one! So next time you find yourself or a loved one getting into a funk, turn on some tunes and get movin! ❤️

Sort:  

This is great! I love dancing as well, and it is definitely uplifting! Thanks for sharing!

As a long term lover of the dance party I completely get it. When we are lost in the music there is no time, no pain, nothing which needs to be done...

We just finished our morning dance session. I went for Daft Punk this time, Lose yourself to dance! Fantastic at full volume :)

Was not aware of Kai's reflux issue. Great at least that it led you to this conclusion.

Great choice of song! You are spot on with all the points you made! And yes the best thing that came out of his reflux was our love of family dance parties! 💃🕺

Yeah I am a big believer in the healing powers of dance, dance your way to happiness, I danced a lot with all my 3 girls, we still do, nothing lifts my spirits more than a good dance, great post thank you @iamjamie

Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving your comment! Not only do I love to hear others getting their groove on with their littles but I took a minute to check out your profile and I am so excited to start following you as we are interested in a lot of similar things! So yay for new steem friends! ❤️❤️❤️

Dancing it'a really helpful when you are stressed, i love it!

So true! Thanx for stopping by and dropping a little love on my post! 😍

Let there be more dancing!! Hot & sweaty, Saturday Houseworky, Slow & Sexy in the kitchen. Great post, Jamie. Remind me never to live downstairs from you guys! haha... :)

SUPER pic of the Little Guy. :)

Bahahaha! I'm constantly back shocked we don't get more complaints! Maybe they like our rythmic stomping!?

Cute Baby!!! I recently stumbled upon the magical art of dancing. Does wonders for the mood but my reason is different. I find myself lacking in physical activity and as a means of compensating, I started doing basic stretches to music and ended up dancing xD Dancing is good stuff, awesome that it works for the baby too, that knowledge might come in handy later!! Good luck!

That's sounds great! Kinda sounds like my daily workouts. I just turn on some music and move with it throeibgbsone squats and lunges and stuff of course! lol! Do whatever works for you! Thank for stopping by and sharing how you use dance in your life! Lots of love! 😘

Oh I love to dance!We also dance almost everyday in the morning, my little one loves it to and can already sind some of the songs, haha!

Kais not quite at the stage of singing yet but he definitely recognizes some Igbo his favorite songs and shakes his booty extra fir them! Lol! Parenting is so much fun! Thanx for dropping some love on my post! I appreciate it! ❤️

Oh yes it is so much fun! I love this age, and it is so exciting to listen to all new words bubbling up each day!

Great! We love the family dance parties too. My boy loves Raves now and our new daughter is really getting into the groove.

Awesome that it helped Kai as well. :)

Love hearing others are enjoy some good groovin! How olds your two littles!?

  1. 6 years
  2. 6 months :)

Oh my goodness what fun ages! I'm sure you guys must be having a blast everyday!