The Pursuit of Happiness and a New Year

in #happiness6 years ago

Its almost the end of the year, and I always find myself in a reflective state. It's interesting as I grow older, maybe and hopefully even wiser, I find my wants out of life changing. Over the years I've found my new years goals to be more about having a happy life and less about rock hard abs, or a million dollars in the bank (not that I wouldn't love either of those things) So here are a few things that I have been working on, that I will be bringing with me to 2018.

when-youre-at-the-end-of-your-ability-god-can-heal-your-marriage.jpg

Marriage First! My marriage and relationship with my husband is a top priority, which we are constantly working on. We work out any kinks, try and see things from the others point of view, and spend as much quality time together as possible. It has its ups and downs, but at the end of the day I'm pretty proud we made it 11 years and going strong.

n-UNIQUE-628x314.jpg

Be you! I grew up in a strict religious society where everyone was expected to fit into a certain mold. Being different or unique was frowned upon. Being "me" is still a work in progress, but being authentic feels SO good!

10-rules-of-minimalist-design-less-is-more.png

Get rid of junk! A couple years ago my little family decided to move into our 5th wheel for a few months. We got rid of about 95% of our personal belongings. It was amazing the lessons we learned from downsizing our life. Now I'm not saying everyone needs to live in a tiny space, but just getting rid of clutter in your house is a such a freeing feeling. Its been a couple years since living in the 5th wheel, but this past year we again purged all the junk out of our house. We sold some on ebay and donated a lot to a local charity thrift store.

4400877.jpg

Personal Development! I love to read PD books or even watch a youtube video. I'm naturally a self reflective person (somethings this can lead me to be TOO hard on myself) but personal development has really added a lot of value in my life.

164797-169522.jpg

Graditude! I have a beautiful family, great friends, food in the kitchen, and a warm bed to sleep in. Everything else is just a bonus.

Sort:  

Glad you joined. You are going to have to add the graditude that Steemit changed your life.

Thank you! Thats the plan ; )

Welcome and what an excellent blog!

Thank you!

Congratulations @loulou365! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!