Sort:  

Finding joy in the little things we do

Amen! It may seem strange to LEARN to be happy and TRAIN to be a happy person - but my experience has shown that this is ABSOLUTELY true.

It's not a cup of coffee and sunrise that makes a person happy, but learning to ENJOY a cup of coffee and sunrise that brings joy. But if you don't get your cup of coffee and sunrise in the morning, find joy in something else, because if we rely only on circumstances to be happy, we are going to be very disappointed. All the time.

Happiness is a moral obligation. -Dennis Prager

Thank you for this video! Keep steeming! @ironshield

AMEN!! Thank you so much for watching and commenting and adding in your solid wisdom!

@southernplate Years ago, I learned from Les Brown that being happy is a skill. It takes a daily commitment and an awareness not to let external forces affect how one feels on the inside. Additionally, listening to Richard Carlson added "L" wings to the concept. Then if I got too bogged down internally, I took a page out of Leo Buscaglia and did stuff for others.

It is very difficult to be depressed if one is handing out homemade, chocolate-chips cookies to homeless folks. Hey, they need hugs also.

You're seeing the matrix. Thank you. I will be paying attention to your blog.

Whine less!

I love the part about starting the day with a favorite cup of coffee, watching the sunrise and looking forward to the morning.

Setting small incentives along the way so there is always a small thing to focus on. Joy markers!

For me a joy marker is stepping outside in the morning and breathing in the crisp morning air.

Thanks so much. This is a great little tactic I will put in my back pocket. You are AWESOME!!!
I will be watching your other videos.
Cheers.

Resteeming! Great to see you on Steemit!!

Thank you, Zach! I found it through your videos, so double thanks! Enjoyed your latest with Jaimie's laundry house. It's always impressive to see a structure so well built with attention to detail. I'm grateful for all that you do and all of your videos (and channels!).

There are excellent web based therapy available,for those in need of someone to communicate with, but for some reason can't reach out to therapists in their community. I mentioned one such resource here: https://steemit.com/psychology/@protoken/talk-or-chat-with-a-licensed-professional-therapist-online

So true. If I don't have my own quiet time at the end of (or during the day) I'm not a happy camper. That time to be quiet in your own thoughts is priceless. Thank you for the great post!